Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums

Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums (http://www.videokarma.org/index.php)
-   Flat Panels & Digital Format (http://www.videokarma.org/forumdisplay.php?f=181)
-   -   TV shopping? (http://www.videokarma.org/showthread.php?t=270620)

electronjohn 06-30-2018 04:30 PM

TV shopping?

Well. maybe. We have a 52" Sharp "Aquos" that has been a fine performer since new about 6 years ago. Couple months ago, two thin lines developed near the top of the screen. Recently, a third line has become apparent about 1/3 of the way down. Since I have little knowledge of the black magic in how these things operate...is it fixable or just potential E-waste. Any comments or suggestions will be appreciated.

TUD1 06-30-2018 04:40 PM

I go TV shopping by the local thrift store's dumpster. :D

andy 06-30-2018 05:01 PM

zeno 06-30-2018 05:19 PM

TV shopping sucks now. All the sets are put in display mode
that gives a fake picture only meant to grab your eye.
The content shown dont help either. Then try to get them
to give you a remote to see what it really looks like.
Forget that idea.........

All I can say is I got a 32" Sony about 6 yrs ago & it has been
flawless. It even can give a mild natural pix like a CRT set.
Not overstated, inaccurate colors & room lighting brightness........

73 Zeno:smoke:
LFOD !

mbates14 06-30-2018 06:10 PM

most TVs now are all junk BTW. most offbrands are made either by LG or huawei. There are some other chinese nonames that dont even hide the name by a "fake american" name anymore. just chinese.

Otherwise, its either LG or Samsung. thats about it. Vizio is made by LG, and now so is sharp.

Ed in Tx 06-30-2018 08:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by zeno (Post 3201538)
All I can say is I got a 32" Sony about 6 yrs ago & it has been
flawless. It even can give a mild natural pix like a CRT set.