Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums

Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums (http://www.videokarma.org/index.php)
-   Early B&W and Projection TV (http://www.videokarma.org/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Philco Television Model 53-T2262 (http://www.videokarma.org/showthread.php?t=255655)

maddix2011 09-22-2012 12:23 AM

Philco Television Model 53-T2262

4 Attachment(s)
Can anyone Tell me what the value of this tv is before i try to go and sell it and cut myself short? I'm new to this and would like a rough estimation on where to start. Attachment 176271

Attachment 176272

Attachment 176273

Attachment 176274

These are a few pics i took...
So basically what its worth and maybe where i could sell it..:D

zenithfan1 09-22-2012 12:52 AM

It's about a 1953 model, and is worth about 75 to a 100 bucks, give or take, to the right buyer if it has a strong CRT. That is, however, the prettiest cabinet that I've seen for that set.. I have one very similar in a printed finish cabinet that WAS beautiful and then started peeling in storage....:tears:

Charlie 09-22-2012 06:39 AM

The tube diagram shows it using a 21EP4 CRT. I've heard others mention this tube is often weak. So far, I've dealt with this tube in four sets (Sylvania, Maggie, and two Philco's)... out of the four, only one was good (the Sylvania). If I'm not mistaken, there is no substitute for this tube due to the shape of the front.

If you can get a CRT tester on that tube and prove it is indeed good, you'll have a better chance at selling the set.

Electronic M 09-22-2012 11:53 AM

I paid 10$ for my 1952 Philco split chassis set granted the cabinet has some sizable blemishes, and the CRT base was damaged when I got it(making the CRT condition a gamble). I've been trying to GIVE mine away with little luck, and I put in a considerable sum worth of capacitors to make it work properly.

bgadow 09-22-2012 09:56 PM