Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums

Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums (http://www.videokarma.org/index.php)
-   Early Color Television (http://www.videokarma.org/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Restoring an RCA CTC-10 "Wynnwood". (http://www.videokarma.org/showthread.php?t=259420)

Eric H 09-04-2013 03:10 PM

Restoring an RCA CTC-10 "Wynnwood".

5 Attachment(s)
Scanning Craigslist this morning during break and spotted this RCA listed at $70.
I decided to take off early and go look at it before a Fishtanker found it.

Sadly the CRT has been necked, it was a 21CYP too I think based on the Orange stripe on the neck, I have a rebuilt Channel Master FJP I can put in it though.

It's complete except of one small knob, the CRT cup (probably broken when the CRT got necked) and a couple small pieces of brass trim on the legs.

The cabinet is a little rough but the good thing is it's black lacquer so touching it up is much easier than trying to match a particular shade of stain, also wood putty won't show through black paint.

After finding the tube necked and the cabinet being a bit rough I was considering leaving it, until I realized it was a remote set, I figured that made it worth the extra effort to restore. I also have two CTC10 chassis here for parts so getting it running won't be a problem.
I made an offer of $40 and he accepted it so now it's sitting in my van!

Here's the promo sheet from Ed Reitan's site.
http://www.novia.net/~ereitan/Galler...wood%20800.jpg

StellarTV 09-04-2013 03:17 PM

If I owned this I'd be thinking "Steve Wynnewood" every time I glanced at it. :)

"Wireless Wizard"... I love it! Well worth $70 even sans CRT.

Security sealed circuits?

classicradios 09-04-2013 03:45 PM

Nice! and a remote set! I had a ctc-10 remote but sold it last year in a weak moment for fast $$ Would have given it to you, Sorry.
Cool looking TV.

miniman82 09-04-2013 05:17 PM