Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 04-25-2006, 11:22 PM
AK Member

My Opus Telefunken 6

Hi:

I recently inherited this radio from my grandfather and thought you guys might like to see it. It is in very good condition. Many of the pictures of this radio I see on the net have discolored fabric, but this is perfect. I think because my grandparents didn't smoke, as was common back in the day. How does it sound? Fantastic! This radio also has sentimental value to me because I spend a lot of time with my grandparents back in the early 80's and he always listed to this radio in the kitchen. I feel very lucky to have it.

I'm still learning how the SW feature works. Seems you have to use two different dials to change the stations and then fine tune the reception?

One technical question. When I turn it off or switch bands, a pop sound occurs. Don't know if this is cause for concern or if that is normal.

Old 04-26-2006, 05:21 AM
Lambda Acoustics!!!

that is an awesome looking unit...congrats!

Mono: Fisher 500 mono rec. w/EVRegency III, Stereo: Technics SP-10 TT, McIntosh MR-55, Pilot SA-232, JBL L-96, Pilot SA-210 pre.
In reserve: EV12trxb, EV15trx
Old 04-26-2006, 07:50 AM
A proud member of AK

Nice piece.

I could be wrong, but a good cleaning of the switch contacts with deoxit may get rid of some of the pops.

Joe
Old 04-26-2006, 10:25 AM
<-- sucker for old sets.

That is in fantastic condition! THe only other Opus I've seen in that kind of condition still had a missing back and the FM didn't work. You even have the manual and schematic.

CLeaning the switch contacts on these does help alot. If you are going to put it into daily use, I would recomend replacing the capacitors. Over time they dry up and drift off value. You'll be amazed how good it sounds after you do.
Old 04-26-2006, 01:09 PM
Shaken, not stirred

Stunning