Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Vintage Arcade, Pinball, and MAME

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 03-20-2012, 09:40 PM
VideoKarma Member

Original Magnavox Odyssey

Hi - I am a regular at Audiokarma but this is my first post here at VK. I teach recent U.S. history at the University of Wisconsin-Parkside in Kenosha, and I've done a number of summer "time capsule" classes in anniversary years. Last year I taught a class on the U.S. in the Summer of 1981 and I had the students play Atari 2600. They loved it! This summer I am doing a class on the U.S. in the Summer of 1972. I am trying to find a working 1972 Magnavox Odyssey for them to try out. I know they show up on eBay but they are mighty pricey. Anyone have any suggestions - or have a unit - they might be willing to sell? Thanks!
Old 03-21-2012, 06:03 PM
complete novice

Unfortunately ebay sounds like your only hope, or best hope actually.

Im sure one of us has one, but as we collect them, i doubt most would sell below what theyre worth.
Old 09-24-2012, 09:18 PM
VideoKarma Member

I've got a console Magnavox out in my garage/storage building that has the game built into the cabinet. It's a project for later. It's got a brand new 25V black matrix CRT in it.

I hope you find one. They are fun to play. This is coming from a person that owns no modern video game systems at all.
Old 09-24-2012, 09:43 PM
Administrator

Is it anything like this one?
I think I still have one of these stashed somewhere.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg oddes.jpg (32.5 KB, 78 views)
Old 09-25-2012, 10:24 PM
VideoKarma Member

There was one in the box at a local antique mall about a month ago. As usual, I was interested in it, therefore it had no price tag!
Old 09-25-2012, 10:29 PM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmesuser01 View Post
This is coming from a person that owns no modern video game systems at all.