Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > General Off Topic Forums

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-15-2015, 04:29 PM
Don't mess with Esther.

Car battery charger regulation

I have an older Motomaster (Schumacher) model 11-1159-4 6-amp manual battery charger. I would like to use it to power my car stereos on the bench. Any suggestions on what to use for outboard voltage regulation?
Old 05-15-2015, 07:15 PM
Administrator

Besides the voltage, you'll get lots of hum from a battery charger, unless you hook it to a battery to smooth things out.
Old 05-15-2015, 08:45 PM
Followin' the Rules...

Even with a battery, you'll get some hum - I had my Honda Accord in storage for a while, and had the battery go down. I used my lil' Shumacher battery charger to charge the battery, and tried the radio while it charged - pure 120Hz hum.

It's probably best to hold out for a regulated 12/13.8V power supply - an Astron, an old Archer (Radio Shack), a Pyramid, or any one of the many off-brand supplies. I pick them up at flea markets - many sellers can't guarantee them or hook them up, so I offer what I'm willing to pay and usually it's accepted.

Cheers,
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Old 05-15-2015, 11:14 PM
Don't mess with Esther.

I have a "DVE" model DVP-112 power supply here... the output is only 2 amps and I have no idea if it's regulated. Would that be good enough for old car stereos?
Old 05-16-2015, 01:48 PM
M is for Memory

If it is a 60Hz transformer and diodes style unit try a 2200uF 25V+ cap on the output...I use that and a 70's Tripplite 500W inverter/battery charger to run car radios with little hum.

Zenith: The quality stays in EVEN after the name falls off!
What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4
Audiokarma
Old 05-16-2015, 02:26 PM
Don't mess with Esther.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electronic M View Post