Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2018, 12:45 PM
UberVacTuber's Avatar
UberVacTuber UberVacTuber is offline
Hey, I can fix that!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 50
CTC 5 Super signal issues

Hi all, I'm trying to finish a CTC 5 and am having difficulties getting a good picture. When the fine tuning is set where I get a color picture, I get lots of herringbones in the picture and buzzy sound. If I adjust the fine tuning to a point where I get strong, clear sound, the picture is out of sync. If I adjust the fine tuning for good video, I can get a good, clear picture, but it's black and white and faded somewhat. I tried using a substitute tuner feeding into the IF, but it didn't seem to help. I wondering where I should look next. Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6345.jpg (94.9 KB, 63 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2018, 01:22 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,405
Sounds like IF and color alignment problems.... if you are really lucky you can fix it by replacing every resistor in the IF that is at the edge of or out of tolerance and tube swaps...but odds are it will need a proper sweep alignment... don't randomly monkey with the slugs you WILL make it worse.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2018, 09:12 PM
old_tv_nut's Avatar
old_tv_nut old_tv_nut is offline
See yourself on Color TV!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rancho Sahuarita
Posts: 4,837
I'd also bet it's IF alignment

A couple items that are probably not a fix, but I would try really simple really quick things first:

I assume the cable from the tuner to the IF is good (center conductor and ground)?
Replace/swap IF tubes just in case one is causing trouble.
It only takes 5 minutes to rule these out. Although they aren't likely, if they are a problem, chasing alignment will be futile.

Next check resistors and other parts.

Then consider doing alignment
__________________
www.bretl.com
Old TV literature, New York World's Fair, and other miscellany
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2019, 09:51 AM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,266
Adjust the 4.5 Mhz trap a little. Be sure to flag your alignment
tool so you can put it back where it was if it dont fix it.
Be gentile, its old & dry in there !

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2019, 10:29 AM
UberVacTuber's Avatar
UberVacTuber UberVacTuber is offline
Hey, I can fix that!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 50
Thanks, guys. I'll give the easy stuff a try first. All the resistors have been replaced. I have the gear to align it, just dreading the job as you have to setup a bias supply, resistors, jumpers, etc... if I could hook this up to a test jig it wouldn't be bad, but the RCA test jigs are only compatible back to the CTC-7. I'll report back on what I find.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 01-01-2019, 12:01 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,405
The jigs should support everthhing but your convergence (which is unnecessary)...You may have to create your own deflection yoke adapter.

I was able to run a CTC-2B on my jig even though claimed support does not start till a few chassis later.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2019, 03:39 PM
UberVacTuber's Avatar
UberVacTuber UberVacTuber is offline
Hey, I can fix that!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 50
For the 5 you have to use the original yoke from the set. If you don't the flyback will scream like a banshee.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2019, 11:10 AM
oldtvman's Avatar
oldtvman oldtvman is offline
Larry Melton (oldtvman)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mishawaka, Indiana
Posts: 726
check for bad ground connection on IF section and cable between the tuner and IF input. Always look for the easy stuff first.
__________________
[IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2019, 12:37 PM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by UberVacTuber View Post
For the 5 you have to use the original yoke from the set. If you don't the flyback will scream like a banshee.
Untrue, I had 4 different CTC-5 chassis on my jig last year and none of them complained at all. I have a roundie jig, not a later square one with the silly shunts and whatnot.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.