Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Diagnostic & Test Equipment

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 10-17-2018, 11:55 AM
TheUniversalDave1

Beltron CRT tester put to the test

I've wanted a Beltron CRT tester for a very long time. There is a well known electronics personality on a well known video sharing site that uses one, and I always liked the way it tested when I saw this person use it on a CRT. Well, I finally got one and I'd thought I'd share the results. I've used a Heathkit, a B&K 470, then I graduated to a 467, then to a Sencore CR70. This is the ONLY tester that was able to bring back a tube that I had written off as useless a long time ago. It's a 1971 RCA Hi-Lite roundie tube, and red was absolutely shot. Neither the 467, nor the CR70 could do anything with it regarding rejuvenation. They actually made it test WORSE. I pop the Beltron on it, and to my utter shock and amazement, RED TESTS BRAND NEW NOW, and even passes the life test with flying colors. I guess I'm a Beltron fanboy now. We'll see how this tube holds up, it will be interesting.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6088.jpg (65.7 KB, 75 views)
Old 10-17-2018, 02:20 PM
Don't mess with Esther.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TUD1 View Post
I've wanted a Beltron CRT tester for a very long time. There is a well known electronics personality on a well known video sharing site that uses one
Shango066 on YouTube (uh, doi)

As far as I know those things will blast the CRT harder than any other tester, and this time didn't blow the red gun to kingdom come, hence the good result.

I give that CRT about a month of use.
Old 10-17-2018, 05:08 PM
VideoKarma Member

Last edited by andy; 11-18-2021 at 04:51 PM.
Old 10-18-2018, 05:08 PM
Workin' Late Again

Quote: