Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Recorded Video

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2019, 08:19 PM
sm19422 sm19422 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
RCA to HDMI Upscaler Converter

I finally purchased a new 40"HD TV.

I can play my Toshiba Vcr through the coax and a/v connections on my new tv.
The vcr tapes do not have a very sharp picture.
Would a RCA to HDMI upscale converter improve the sharpness of my old vcr tapes?
Amazon has quite a few of them for sale.
https://www.amazon.com/Svideo-Conver...a-569349346534

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01L8GG6PW...B0769GMV9YDoes
Does any forum member have any experience with this type of device?
I do not want to waste my money purchasing a device like this unless it improves the picture quality of my vcr tapes.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2019, 09:03 PM
iong iong is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 58
Vhs tapes will always look like hell on flat screen HDTV. They will look worse if you upscale to HDMI. For best quality use a good Solid State CRT TV to play them.
Perry

Last edited by iong; 01-05-2019 at 10:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2019, 10:45 AM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is online now
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,406
A few high-end VCRs had digital noise reduction systems that smooth out the noise enough that rather than a fuzzy blurry picture you get just a somewhat blurry picture...CRT is the way to go for tape. Also, NTSC is extremely hard to make look good on a screen over 36"
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2019, 11:53 PM
mr_rye89's Avatar
mr_rye89 mr_rye89 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 111
I use one because they usually do a better job scaling SD video better that the TV's built in composite input. I also ran a projector for many years and only wanted to run one cable to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2019, 12:29 PM
user181 user181 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_rye89 View Post
I use one because they usually do a better job scaling SD video better that the TV's built in composite input. I also ran a projector for many years and only wanted to run one cable to it.

What make/model is the one you use?
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 01-08-2019, 09:59 PM
mr_rye89's Avatar
mr_rye89 mr_rye89 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 111
Just a Monoprice composite/svideo to HDMI scaler, which doesn't work at the moment
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.