Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Television Broadcast Gear

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2018, 02:52 PM
Merrick61 Merrick61 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
repair vintage Editor?

I bought a really old school video switcher/ SEG. A Showtime Video Ventures model ..probably back from the 80s or early 90s. All buttons light up but darn if I can get a video signal to pass through the Coax inputs and outputs. Are there any places around that repair these old time switchers? Might just be something loose inside but if I open it up, i know all hell will break loose.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2018, 06:14 PM
Chip Chester Chip Chester is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 596
Generally, pro switchers are "simple" and repetitive. Not simple enough for me to fix of course, but reasonable if you can find a manual. And pro manuals are often service manuals, too. Can you post a pic?

Eehh, if it's this thing: https://books.google.com/books?id=XA...ntures&f=false
I take back what I said about 'pro' stuff, unfortunately.

Does 'coax' mean F-type connectors, or RCA, or BNC?

Last edited by Chip Chester; 03-17-2018 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2018, 08:28 AM
kf4rca kf4rca is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 230
If its like the Ampex ACE editor, all your source signals will have to be synchronous with your reference.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-19-2018, 05:31 PM
Merrick61 Merrick61 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Yes F type connector. Older consumer switcher from the 80s


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip Chester View Post
Generally, pro switchers are "simple" and repetitive. Not simple enough for me to fix of course, but reasonable if you can find a manual. And pro manuals are often service manuals, too. Can you post a pic?

Eehh, if it's this thing: https://books.google.com/books?id=XA...ntures&f=false
I take back what I said about 'pro' stuff, unfortunately.

Does 'coax' mean F-type connectors, or RCA, or BNC?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg showmaster.jpg (57.2 KB, 52 views)

Last edited by Celt; 03-19-2018 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2018, 07:24 PM
BBTV BBTV is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Fairly simple to fix with a manual. Without a manual, virtually impossible. It's also possible that it needs external reference (genlock, sync, other) to work, and also possible as mentioned all inputs have to be synchronous. Hopefully there are no specailized or custom IC's in there, as they would be in the "unobtanium" class of components today.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 06-18-2018, 10:12 PM
Chip Chester Chip Chester is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 596
Post a pic of the back -- clear enough to read the labels, etc.
At that vintage, it's pretty unlikely that it has a frame sync on each input, which would mean that all sources would need to be synchronized before entering switcher.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Yesterday, 12:48 AM
Dave A's Avatar
Dave A Dave A is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,245
Not likely F connectors. That is RF and I never saw a device that would direct convert RF to baseband video in the day especially in the prosumer market. This is a 525 baseband unit as the V interval label and sync timing indicator lamp shows. It needs sync somewhere via a camera input or a sync input. Probably RCA connectors on the back. The sync timing adjustment is to get the cameras in phase (tint) sync during a dissolve which is mixing two sources at once. Gotta get them matching in phase. The switcher may generate its own sync to reference to.

Open it up and look for bad solder joints and buldging caps in the power supply. Not much else can happen.
__________________
“Once you eliminate the impossible...whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth." Sherlock Holmes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Yesterday, 10:39 AM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave A View Post
Not likely F connectors. That is RF and I never saw a device that would direct convert RF to baseband video in the day especially in the prosumer market.
F connectors are usually RF but not always. The Blonder Tongue agile modulators most of us tube TV collectors use to feed our sets use F connectors for audio and baseband video input as well as RF output...Guess they were either too lazy to spec out normal BNC/RCA for the A/V inputs on those or the cable industry hates non-F connectors with a passion...
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Yesterday, 10:42 AM
BBTV BBTV is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
In the 'believe it or not' category, back "in the day" there were manufacturers that actually used F connectors for baseband video. Consumer stuff, not broadcast or even pro. A few, not many, but enough to confuse the issue into the 2018's :-D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©Copyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.