Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 03-01-2012, 06:07 PM
complete novice

What large antenna works best for a crystal radio?

Im running what looks like a giant square with an X that connects the corners. Roughly 50'x20', with a copper cable that runs to the ground and is connected to a piece of rebar thats pounded 3' in the ground.

Ive found i actually have better reception with JUST the ground hooked up to where the antenna should be. Ive no idea why this is going on.

An uncle said the box with an X in it was a great antenna for crystal radios, but apparently its not working for me or for this location.

Im running the antenna between the house and garage, so ive a decent size place to make a large one.

Which antennas have you had the best experience with?

Last edited by jbivy; 03-02-2012 at 01:41 PM.
Old 03-02-2012, 05:52 AM
VideoKarma Member

"More wire, up higher" is the usual mantra for crystal set antennas. I never used any fancy designs but just a single long wire, as long as the property would allow, and as high as I had attachment points. Be sure your antenna ends have good insulators. The one I have now is No. 14 insulated wire, black plastic insulation, bought off the reel at Lowe's. The end insulators are classic glass ribbed ones. The lead in wire is the same as the antenna. It goes from the top of the chimney about 30 ft. high out to a metal TV pole about 20 ft. high, total length 60 ft. Your X antenna as long as it's supported by insulators should be fine. Mine works great for all radios, xtal included.

Perfection is hard to reach with a screwdriver.

Last edited by Reece; 03-02-2012 at 07:10 AM.
Old 03-02-2012, 01:26 PM
<----Zenith C845