Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-04-2018, 11:51 PM
VideoKarma Member

Westinghouse H14T17 Restoration/Questions

Picked this Westinghouse 14 inch "portable" set from 57'
Few questions as I'm still new to the field of television repair (patience appreciated)

There's a 4.7 ohm resistor placed right before the half wave rectifier that's gone bad. According to the datasheet, it should be 1/2w although it looks like a much higher wattage resistor. Is this a typo or am I reading this wrong?

Datasheet and resistor(R82)
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f3...psiponvcba.jpg
Old 05-05-2018, 01:07 AM
M is for Memory

Looks to be in the 5-20w range. Word to the wise Sam's are full of typos, and even the good ones are not the last word... There were often many production changes throughout the life of a chassis... Sam's are usually a snapshot of one. Whether it was the first, last, best, or worst is not usually known.

When you restore a set it is best to go by the original parts instead of the schematic... granted if someone has worked on it before you and hacked up the wiring or made questionable replacements, or if the originals are damaged beyond identification the schematic is your best guide.

That resistor is probably for current limiting the selenium rect. Resistance is not critical ( wattage will be though) and may be increased to compensate for the reduced voltage drop across the diode that you're presumaby replacing the selenium with.

The preceding was a message from your friendly neighborhood insomniac TV restorer.

Zenith: The quality stays in EVEN after the name falls off!
What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4
Old 05-05-2018, 08:19 AM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electronic M View Post