Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Diagnostic & Test Equipment

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 07-09-2010, 12:39 AM
RCA 741PCS

Leader LCG-400 NTSC Pattern Generator

I picked this up cheap recently. The packing job was ridiculous - 6 or 7 tightly nested boxes. Kinda like a "blooming onion".

I've never used one before, but it looks like a very cool device.

Unfortunately, I detected the nasty stink of burnt electronics shortly after powering it up. I popped it open and discovered a fried tantalum capacitor.
So far gone I can't read the value

Anyone know what the correct value is for C824 in one of these ? The one right next to it is 4.7uF @ 25v so I figure that's a good guess.

-

Last edited by bandersen; 07-19-2010 at 08:53 PM.
Old 07-09-2010, 11:12 AM
VideoKarma Member

I've got one of these here at work. It's been sitting on the junk pile out in the garage for a while now. I'll grab it and check the value of the cap for ya.
Old 07-09-2010, 11:18 AM
VideoKarma Member

You are correct. Both caps are 4.7 @ 25.
Old 07-09-2010, 11:41 AM
RCA 741PCS

Thanks! I popped a new one in and no luck
I do have a clean +5 VDC going to all the logic ICs and the clock oscillator is running, but I'm not finding any signal beyond the stuff right around the clock.

When you say it's sitting on the junk pile, do you mean it's going to be thrown out ?
Old 07-09-2010, 01:23 PM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bandersen View Post
When you say it's sitting on the junk pile, do you mean it's going to be thrown out ?
No we hung onto it as a rainy day project. It's full of bad caps. I'll look around and see if I can find the service manual. If I find it I'll copy the schematic for ya.
Audiokarma
Old 07-09-2010, 01:29 PM
RCA 741PCS

Thanks!
Old 07-11-2010, 11:10 PM
Followin' the Rules...