Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-07-2004, 05:11 PM
AK Member

feedback noise

What does it mean when a tube radio makes a squealing noise similar to microphone feedback when the mic gets too close to the speaker? My Zeinith table top radio does this once in a while. It goes away either on its own, or if I monkey with the knobs a little. Sometimes, taking it out of the AFC mode does the trick.
Old 05-07-2004, 09:31 PM
AK Member

I'm not an expert troubleshooter, by any means, but I do know that those kinds of intermittent problems are the most difficult to isolate.

You didn't say much about the radio itself. Is it still running on all of its original components? My experience has been that any radio more than several decades old is living on borrowed time, as far as its capacitors are concerned. Failed or failing bypass caps in the RF and IF stages are notorious for causing oscillation problems. If this radio still has any of its original paper or electrolytic caps, you would be time and money ahead to replace those before going any further. This can either solve or prevent a whole slew of problems.

Also, check for loose or ungrounded RF or tube shields, broken or intermittant ground connections, or wiring that may have been improperly dressed during previous servicing. Less likely would be a tube with an open supressor grid. This won't always show up on a tester, so it's best to substitute with another tube.

Just a few ideas for you. Someone else may have more direct experience with this particular problem.

Good luck!
Old 05-07-2004, 10:43 PM
AK Member