Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2018, 09:07 PM
knockbill knockbill is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 20
Sanyo AVM3258G "No signal" error...

I moved this TV to a different room today, and got a "no signal" message when hooked up to replace a smaller TV on the same cable... Both TVs were working fine before the switch... Went thru the menu and auto channel search a few times with the same result... I think the Sanyo was using the Video connection with RCA jacks right off the Fios box in previous location,,, but wont "see" CATV cable jack,,, or CATV or RCAs off antenna converter box in new location... Presently have smaller TV working off new location, with CATV and antenna, so inputs are working...
Any ideas are welcome,
Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2018, 10:58 PM
old_tv_nut's Avatar
old_tv_nut old_tv_nut is offline
See yourself on Color TV!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rancho Sahuarita
Posts: 4,648
Are you saying that it doesn't see baseband RCA video input as well as RF from antenna or cable? In other words, recognizes no input of any kind? Not familiar with model numbers. Is this an analog set or digital? Does it have an HDMI input?
__________________
www.bretl.com
Old TV literature, New York World's Fair, and other miscellany
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2018, 01:42 PM
knockbill knockbill is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 20
Thanks for replying... Correct,,, it doesn't see any input,, CATV, antenna thru digital converter box, or VCR connected to either CATV jack or RCA video jack... Its from 1998, so its analog(needs a converter for antenna,, or CATV box),,, All on board features work,,, remote, menu, etc...

This is closest manual I could find, but mine is 3258,,, manual is 3259.... No HDMI jack...
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/10...Avm-3259g.html

I just slid the board out and closely inspected for cracks around the tuner box, and jack panels, as well as the other solder joints,,, as it had a loose IC a few years ago, that affected the display(horizontal solid line in the center),, that I re-soldered,,, it was working fine until we moved it to another room to replace a smaller TV...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2018, 06:03 PM
old_tv_nut's Avatar
old_tv_nut old_tv_nut is offline
See yourself on Color TV!
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rancho Sahuarita
Posts: 4,648
I hope someone more familiar with it can offer some advice.

Since you do have scan and on-screen display, maybe checking voltages around the input section would find something? I notice the schematic has a voltage chart.
__________________
www.bretl.com
Old TV literature, New York World's Fair, and other miscellany
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2018, 08:03 PM
knockbill knockbill is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 20
Thanks for replying,,, I think the input board or tuner may have problems... With the history of finding cracked solder joints on the board before, I think carrying the set may have flexed it again, its very heavy and the board isn't supported very well...
Something stupid had to happen...
Yeah, maybe someone with experience with these may have some input...
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 07-01-2018, 10:44 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,668
You can probably find a used CRT set with comperable specs free on Craigslist, and cheap at thrift stores...If there is no sentimental attachment, and your time has decent monitary value it may just be a better value to swap it out for something comperable or better...90's stuff was made to be throwaway sometimes it's best not to fight it.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2018, 05:37 AM
knockbill knockbill is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electronic M View Post
You can probably find a used CRT set with comperable specs free on Craigslist, and cheap at thrift stores...If there is no sentimental attachment, and your time has decent monitary value it may just be a better value to swap it out for something comperable or better...90's stuff was made to be throwaway sometimes it's best not to fight it.
Don't need another set,,, this one is larger than the one presently in service,,,, if I can find the problem, I'll use it,,,, be easier than getting it back down!
I'm retired, so time doesn't matter... If I can sort this one, I'll learn something, have it to use, and get it out of the way!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2018, 10:16 AM
knockbill knockbill is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 20
Found how to access EPROM codes,,, don't know how they could get changed, but I noticed they don't match the codes in the manual I posted... better put it on hold til I find the proper manual...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.