Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Introductions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 06-29-2021, 04:09 PM
VideoKarma Member

New Member hello

Hi, I'm an old tube jockey who is getting back into electronics in my retirement. I'm working mostly on guitar amps and old AM radios, but I have a lot of experience from my days in the shop -'72 to '82. It was a small shop, but we did a lot of shop work, service calls, antenna installation and CATV troubleshooting. We also had RCA sales and warranty - back from the days when companies actually valued their distributors. I got out of the business when it was clear that we were shifting to an economy of sustained disposal rather than repair. I also worked a couple of years prior to the TV shop at a regional electronics wholesaler - Hurley Electronics/Hemco CRT rebuilding, for you in the San Diego-LA area.
I still remember a lot of hands-on repair - I was an ace mechanical tuner refurbisher, but I couldn't align an IF for the life of me today. Those brain cells must have been recycled for my physics class (I went to college after TV, got a chemistry degree). I also did a lot of mechanical refurb on turntables & tape decks. I'm looking forward to perusing your posts and helping the folks carry on the trade with the scraps I have left! Maybe trade a few service call stories!!!
Cheers, James
Old 06-29-2021, 06:24 PM
Analogue is Awesome

Welcome ashore
Old 06-30-2021, 03:30 AM
VideoKarma Member

Welcome. I have loads of 1930's radios and enjoy them all. My next project is a Zenith 8S129 radio. I'm almost finished on a Zenith 5H40 TransOceanic almost completely converted to solid state. Most of my radios glow in the dark! Yes, I also have CRT-type televiewers.
Old 06-30-2021, 11:01 AM
See yourself on Color TV!

Welcome!
Old 07-01-2021, 08:42 AM
I like....big sparks!!