Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Introductions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 06-27-2022, 06:48 AM
VideoKarma Member

Hello New Friends...Happy to Join!

Hi everyone, my name is Chris K. I need to confess in this introduction, I'm a little intimidated by vast knowledge base here and the presence of the well known experts in the community of vintage electronic resurrection and restoration. I do not count myself at anything close to that level in fact, I'm really a novice having only dabbled in this for a couple of years. I am not, however, a science newbie. I've been a biology researcher and university professor for 30+ years so I do have some basic background in the physics of electronics and electromagnetism. I'm plodding through how to read a schematic and identifying parts and circuits.

I restored about a dozen vintage radios, mostly vacuum tube stuff, and then moved on to vintage TVs. I need to give credit to the community of YouTube restorers for getting me so interested in this. I subscribe to several channels...Paul Carlson...Bob Andersen...Shango66...David Tipton... Buzz1151...Radiotvphononut...just to name a few. I am nowhere near the level of what these experts can do, except maybe cabinet restoration as I've been a woodworker making high end pieces...reproductions of vintage styles and, for the past 15 years, acoustic, flat top guitars. I do value and appreciate them for the insights and for the budding passion they sparked in me for this great hobby.