Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 11-24-2016, 02:55 PM
VideoKarma Member

Another Motorola VK-106 restoration attempt

Happy Thanksgiving everybody. I am in process of trying to restore a 1948 Motorola VK-106 that i had found at estate sell. I have never done this before so I am on the learning curve soaking in information when I can. Mine is very similar to the one Banderson posted a few weeks ago so I wont include too many pics. When I got the set I did not know anything about the current condition whether or not tubes were all there or CRT any good. Well so far things have turned out pretty well and have not run into any project stopper problems so far I think. I do have a problem I would like to get an opinion on and I will detail this a few post down but first just a few pics of project and what I have done so far -see posts below.

Here is pic of set the day I got it and by the way I paid 50 and not 100 so not exactly a bargin.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg as bought small.jpg (120.0 KB, 144 views)
Old 11-24-2016, 03:00 PM
VideoKarma Member

vk-106 chassis ts-9c

Here are some more pics of set. All tubes were there except for HV rectifier tube and one tube was wrong type.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg back small.jpg (99.8 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg ts-9c chassis.jpg (99.1 KB, 102 views)
Old 11-24-2016, 03:23 PM
VideoKarma Member

Recap job

I have been busy last few weeks with this whole thing just hoping that CRT was going to come to life. My hopes were up because i found some problems that may have been reason for shelving the set that were not CRT related. Two burned up resistors and a blown fuse so I kept thinking CRT may be okay. By the way I did check crt filament and tube filaments and none were open. I restuffed two can caps and relocated two to inside chassis bottom.
Attached Images