Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 11-08-2023, 12:24 PM
VideoKarma Member

finishing a Predicta Siesta restoration

With a lot of help from Phil Nelson's post about this model on the antiqueradio web site, I was able to restore a Siesta with 10L43 chassis in pretty bad shape back in 2013, and miraculously got it working as a first-time TV project. Some pix attached. Now I've got an intermittent problem to chase down and could use a sanity check.

I'm a tinkerer, software developer by trade, with no training in electrical stuff. I started out by repairing and re-wiring guitars, then graduated to restoring old Fender tube guitar amps. Did about 3 tube radios, then for some reason thought I could try a TV, and somehow got VERY lucky -- I had a working although imperfect picture on my first power-up after replacing a ton of components (all the rectifiers and capacitors and about 75% of the resistors, but not the original couplates). I have to say, that was an AMAZING feeling -- as a programmer, it's like writing code all day, and the first time you try to compile and run it, everything "just works".

Next I replaced all the couplates, which I made on breadboard. Lots of detective work required, so I may have made mistakes. But they worked, at the end I had a nice picture. Sound was faint, but I tweaked the bottom core of T5 and got it dialed in pretty good.