Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Television Broadcast Gear

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-07-2019, 03:00 AM
VideoKarma Member

Info about 1970's broadcast "look"?

Hi folks,

I'm just getting into this as a hobby!

Could you please take a look at the youtube video linked below.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1833581946745914
(note and edit some months later: Unfortunately the original video has been deleted, so i've changed the link to another version on Facebook).

Can anyone tell me what cameras are being used?

How is the "green screen" effect achieved? I don't see any green screen in the long range shots. Perhaps some other technique?

Any other comments or observations about the gear and techniques used to create this "look"?

BTW, i appreciate that when this film was shot, they probably weren't going for a "look", it was probably just the best quality they could achieve, it's only with hindsight that we can appreciate it as a "look"!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Mr D; 10-04-2019 at 02:00 AM.
Old 05-07-2019, 09:38 AM
VideoKarma Member

In the day (1972) this was a blue screen effect called Chromakey. Green came later. It is a "keyhole" process. The talent camera...all of them...sees the band against blue. The side shots show no blue. The video switcher removes the blue and inserts the background with adjustments to make the blue trigger the sensitivity of the switcher to the shade and lighting of the blue. The whole production was done in the effect as you never see the blue screen though you can see the edges of the filled in screen on a few shots. It was 60's/70's video trickery until better digital effects came along.

Last edited by Dave A; 05-07-2019 at 09:40 AM. Reason: typo
Old 05-07-2019, 10:07 AM
VideoKarma Member