Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 01-13-2018, 11:24 PM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
Oops! Made a recapping error! Before I do an alignment I take small pieces of masking tape and ID the places I need to hook to during the alignment. In the Sams these consist of letters A thru F. All went well till finding test point F. Test point F is at the junction of R22, R20, and C13. When examining that spot I noticed that C13 wasn't at the junction! It was at the "bottom" of R20. I checked my notes and sure enough I soldered C13 to the wrong terminal. I soldered it to terminal 3 (counting L to R) instead of 4. I easily moved it to the right spot and labeled test pont F. I never would have caught that if I wasn't pre-labeling those test points. Excuse me while I go buy a couple of Lottery tickets!



Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01-13-2018, 11:55 PM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
The picture is getting better by just watching TV. Star Trek to be exact.

Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01-16-2018, 01:55 PM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
I'm done with the alignment and now on to some details.
I noticed this from the beginning. There some white horizontal lines that "flash" every so often. They are usually near the top of the screen. This happened before I did the retrace blanking mod. They increase in brightness with the "Brightness" knob. If the picture is just a little too dark, they almost disappear.
I've cleaned all the tube sockets and their pins.
Any ideas. Thanks.

https://youtu.be/cFoYIfubVkY
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 01-16-2018, 02:38 PM
jr_tech's Avatar
jr_tech jr_tech is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,660
Is that an example at Spocks chin?

Is that perhaps a 60 hz "hum bar" from the bright line down to the chest insignias on both characters? (does it slowly move up through the picture?)

jr
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 01-16-2018, 02:56 PM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr_tech View Post
Is that an example at Spocks chin?

Is that perhaps a 60 hz "hum bar" from the bright line down to the chest insignias on both characters? (does it slowly move up through the picture?)

jr
Yeah, it sure looks like one of those lines.

I haven't noticed the hum bar moving. It seems that it is always just below a white line.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #51  
Old 01-16-2018, 06:52 PM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
I injected the video directly into the Video Amp tube and I still get those same white lines.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old Yesterday, 12:10 AM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
I'm starting on the cabinet now. I remember reading somewhere what it takes to remove the channel plate that is usually warped. Can anybody point me to where I read that? I don't want to break that Channel number plate!
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old Yesterday, 12:53 AM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
I got the channel plate off with no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old Yesterday, 05:31 PM
decojoe67's Avatar
decojoe67 decojoe67 is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crist Rigott View Post
I got the channel plate off with no problems.
You're daring! I never had the nerve to pry one off. I adjusted my tuner by simply taking the chassis out.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old Yesterday, 05:37 PM
Crist Rigott Crist Rigott is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by decojoe67 View Post
You're daring! I never had the nerve to pry one off. I adjusted my tuner by simply taking the chassis out.
What I did was to use a 3/16 dowel and a small hammer to "drift" it out from the inside. Tapping lightly on each "pin" and move it a little at a time. No prying. 2 of the brass retainers stayed in the cabinet. I used my flush cutter to get them out from the front side.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.