Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > General Off Topic Forums

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-08-2023, 09:01 AM
I love old stuff

Water use and toilets

Some time ago I opened an topic (thread) about new washing machines not using enough water.
A few of the members from here complained the same about toilets. I'm not an expert in sanitary installations, but can this affect the toilet in a bad way? I know that modern flush toilets uses some kind of system where the "route" of the water get a little bit thiner and the end, so a kind of push system forms and this is why they can use less water.
In U.S.A. I know that you have sometimes an kind of flush and vacuum toilet. You pull a rod of the flusher, an valve opens, the water from the toilet gets out, and when the valve closes, the toilet is refilled with water. How common is this system?
Old 05-08-2023, 10:19 AM
VideoKarma Member

Yesterday I was an Interstate 74 rest stop (on topic note: coming back from the ETF convention).
The get clear toilet water from the previous user took 14 ... I counted ... flushes because of inadequate flow.
Old 05-08-2023, 02:15 PM
VideoKarma Member

Most of our crappers use the same system. See U tubes. Water savers are standard now & many worked poorly. Its probably against the law to
use old ones in some areas. When they first came out there was a black market
for the old type. Just like light bulbs.

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Old 05-08-2023, 06:54 PM
M is for Memory

The new ones have gradually come to suck less, but still aren't as good as the old ones. I remember as a kid an old 1940s one in our house was able to flush one of my T-shirts (accident) without clogging, but modern ones have a hard time just handling a big crap without any TP.