Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Transistor Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 06-24-2006, 05:16 PM
Rockin' Kats

No Shortwave radio reception

I'm fairly new to trying to liston to shortwave radio broadcasts.. I havn't really been able to get anything in on either of the radios I have that are capable of SW reception.... just get static.. well the boombox does get something, but it's really faint and easily lost.

When I still lived in Oregon my parents had a huge antenna up over the garage that we NEVER used... now I wish we had one to see if that would make it any better, but stupid neighborhood ordinances have a ban placed on such things.(also dissallow window mounted AC and satalite dishes on street sides of houses)

I just wonder if there's anything I can do or if I'm just boned.
Old 06-24-2006, 05:42 PM
Peanut Head

You won't hear much during the day. Unless the radios have some sort of built-in antenna, you'll need at least 10' (preferably more) of wire to pick up something. I installed my longwire along the top roofline in my attic. 50' will get you quite a bit, including helping the AM broadcast band.

Let me live in the house beside the road and be a friend to man.
Old 06-24-2006, 06:24 PM
The Golden Age of Hi-Fi

Let me know what kind of radio you're using.
Old 06-24-2006, 06:28 PM
Spiteful Old Cuss