Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2018, 08:13 PM
HoboJoe HoboJoe is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Post Can you use the RCA Digital Command Center Remote with a RCA 1982 Colortrak 2000 TV?

Hello.

I have a RCA 1982 Colortrak 2000 Television. I recently acquired the Grey RCA Digital Command Center Remote. I would like to know if this remote will work with the '82 model as I believe it was designed to be used with the later 1983 lineup of RCA Colortrak 2000 TV's, CED Player and VCR.



Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg digital-command-center.jpg (70.1 KB, 29 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2018, 11:19 PM
KentTeffeteller's Avatar
KentTeffeteller KentTeffeteller is offline
Gimpus Stereophilus!
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Athens, TN
Posts: 585
Odds are decent it should work, try it. What have you got to lose?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2018, 11:04 AM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,107
Those take 4 AA batts. Pop some in and try it...Much faster/easier than combing through lit to see if it is compatible (and it is not like you can hurt the TV with the wrong remote)...If the TV doesn't respond look at the front of the remote through the viewfinder of a digital camera or camcorder...CCD imaging devices can see infrared light so if you watch the front via a viewfinder and push a button on the remote you should see a flashing light on the remote front in the viewfinder.

If the remote lights and the TV don't respond they probably are not compatible...If the remote doesn't light then the remote needs repair or your batteries are weak.

I've got 2 remotes from that period that I want to use with my CED player...One doesn't light, and the other probably ain't compatible.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2018, 01:11 PM
El Predicta El Predicta is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 208
Tom C. you never quit amazing me with your all around knowledge. Great asset to this forum.

Larry W
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2018, 02:32 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Predicta View Post
Tom C. you never quit amazing me with your all around knowledge. Great asset to this forum.

Larry W
Thanks for the kind words.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 03-15-2018, 08:28 PM
dieseljeep dieseljeep is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electronic M View Post
Those take 4 AA batts. Pop some in and try it...Much faster/easier than combing through lit to see if it is compatible (and it is not like you can hurt the TV with the wrong remote)...If the TV doesn't respond look at the front of the remote through the viewfinder of a digital camera or camcorder...CCD imaging devices can see infrared light so if you watch the front via a viewfinder and push a button on the remote you should see a flashing light on the remote front in the viewfinder.

If the remote lights and the TV don't respond they probably are not compatible...If the remote doesn't light then the remote needs repair or your batteries are weak.

I've got 2 remotes from that period that I want to use with my CED player...One doesn't light, and the other probably ain't compatible.
You mean the one I had doesn't work at all!
I never really tried it and if I did, I probably did the AM radio trick. I don't remember trying it on an actual piece of equipment.
After that many years some functions probably wouldn't work, but I really wanted to see it work on your CED player.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2018, 10:07 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,107
The IR emitter is not functioning. I haven't declared it dead/lost cause yet, but I haven't found time to get to the root cause of its problems yet...Right now it is among about a dozen other projects in a sort of purgatory that comes about when I have enough time to open a project up, life suddenly gets busy for a while, I forget about what I was doing and or priorities change. Eventually, I'll get back a roundtuit.

My main video source rack where the CED player it should work with resides is LONG overdue for a rewire (which should kick me back to the remote project)...Normally I do that annually, but has held it's core configuration (analog cable with analog TVs) for probably 3X that by now...Gear in the rack needs repairs and so many things have changed in the way I watch/record TV in that time that it is devolving into a flying spaghetti monster of jury rigs to make digital cable TV work and support my Sony HDCRT with HD video...Some warped part of my subconscious must enjoy having and expanding an impractical backlog of projects.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2018, 01:44 AM
Jon A.'s Avatar
Jon A. Jon A. is offline
Don't mess with Esther.
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electronic M View Post
Some warped part of my subconscious must enjoy having and expanding an impractical backlog of projects.
I think that's true of most of us here. The key is knowing when to stop for a while, a skill which I'm not even close to mastering.

I have a cable box remote with two infrared emitters connected in series. There was a cold joint just before the emitters that was very tricky to spot.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2018, 09:35 PM
Robert Grant's Avatar
Robert Grant Robert Grant is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Monroe County, MI
Posts: 474
Are you sure it is infrared remote and not ultrasonic?

My family bought an RCA 25" color set in I believe December 1981 or December 1982. The remote was ultrasonic. The original remote broke a few years later, and I bought a replacement, Phillips ECG RT114.

That set had the best adjacent-channel rejection of any I've seen, but the red was brownish and even strong signals gave a picture with video noise.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2018, 12:25 PM
HoboJoe HoboJoe is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Decided to take a closer look at the remote, this morning. Apparently I managed to overlook some writing on the bottom battery tray. I didn't bother to noticed the first time. "NEDA TYPE 15A OR EQUIV." ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Inside_Grey_RCA_Digital_Command_Center_Remote.jpg (40.9 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by HoboJoe; 03-24-2018 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 03-24-2018, 12:55 PM
jr_tech's Avatar
jr_tech jr_tech is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3,822
NEDA type 15A... in other words, a common AA alkaline.

jr
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2018, 05:47 PM
mrjukebox160 mrjukebox160 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 103
Yep: https://www.hnstools.com/rayovac-aa-...eda-15a/detail
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2018, 03:43 PM
andy's Avatar
andy andy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,001
One odd feature of the early RCA IR remote sets was that the channel list was stored in the remote rather than the set. When you added, or skipped a channel it would store it in the remote. Pressing channel up or down transmitted the channel number. If you were on channel 5 and covered the IR emitter while pressing channel up 3 times, the next time you aimed it at the set and hit channel up, it would go directly to channel 9.

These sets lacked channel up/down buttons on the set. Newer remotes will work, but channel up/down won't do anything.

Interestingly, the older remotes work fine on newer sets (they just ignore the remote's channel list).
__________________
Wanted list:
RCA CTC-5
RCA CTC19 or 27
Sony KV-7010U
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.