Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Flat Panels & Digital Format

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2019, 10:53 AM
radio nut's Avatar
radio nut radio nut is offline
Born in the wrong decade
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 770
Samsung 60 inch

A friend has a Samsung 60 inch that is about 4 years old.
Recently it had small black lines on the screen from the top down. Now the entire right side is black.
He ran tv self tests and the tv started it failed 3 out of 3 tests. Now what?
I will post pics of the screen and model info as soon as I figure out new phone!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2019, 11:04 AM
radio nut's Avatar
radio nut radio nut is offline
Born in the wrong decade
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 770
Model number pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190102_105807.jpg (70.5 KB, 25 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2019, 11:05 AM
radio nut's Avatar
radio nut radio nut is offline
Born in the wrong decade
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 770
Lost pic of screen, but it is just black top to bottom on the right side
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2019, 01:42 PM
radio nut's Avatar
radio nut radio nut is offline
Born in the wrong decade
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 770
I work on antique electronics so with this set I am lost.
The guy would like to repair this tv since new it cost 1000.00
Are there known issues with this model?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2019, 02:09 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,284
Sounds like a ribbon cable fail if it started as thin lines... sometimes you can flex the ribbon cable or screen as a bandaid but once the ribbon cables go that is the end of the set.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 01-03-2019, 06:23 AM
dr.ido's Avatar
dr.ido dr.ido is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SE Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 532
Probably a tab bond and/or TCON failure. As has already been said - sometimes you can apply just the right amount of pressure in just the right spot to get it to come good again, but it is not a permanent fix and there is a risk of cracking the screen in the process.

The only real fix is to replace the panel. Realistically, the only viable way to replace the panel is to buy a dead used set (that hopefully has a good panel) and swap your working boards into it to make one good set out of the 2.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.