Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 09-09-2005, 09:02 PM
AK Member

Cool RCA 8-T-244 Table Top TV

I,m new to this forum, so please bare with me. My friend just gave me a 1947? Rca 8-T -244 tv. It has two doors that slide into the cabinet and an 8 inch screen. Whern I tried to power it up, it blew the 5u4ga rectifier tube next to the transformer. I tested all of the other tubes, three are weak ,and I hope to pick up all three plus the 5u4ga tomorrow. Does anybody have info, such as schematics , etc. for this model?
I'm a beginner and I'm flying in the dark on this one. I'd love to get this operational, if possible. Could the caps be causing the rectifier tube to blow? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

Bruce
Old 09-09-2005, 10:56 PM
VideoKarma Member

I would say you are right, there are likely bad electrolytic caps. On something of this age I always replace all of the capsbefore doing further troubleshooting work.
A good test tool is a short checker lamp in these instances when powering up unknown condition equipment....put a 60 watt bulb in series with the power line to the device...if it glows briright and stays bright you have a short and this will protect the device under test from overcurrent.

Working on TV's can be dangerous if proper safety precautions aren't followed...make sure you are familiar with these procedures before commencing repairs.
Check out www.repairfaq.org for good information on TV repair safety.

One test you can do is to hook up your short check lamp to the TV with the rectifier tube out. Check and see if your other tubes light up including the CRT. The test lamp bulb should glow dimly and the tubes should light.

Last edited by Chad Hauris; 09-09-2005 at 11:07 PM.
Old 09-10-2005, 09:50 PM
AK Member

Update on RCA 8-T-244