Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Transistor Portable Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 03-30-2021, 01:46 PM
VideoKarma Member

Service manual or disassembly tips for Realistic 16-108?

I recently got my hands on a Realistic 16-108 that seems to be in great working condition except for a damaged video in jack. At a glance, it looks like the pins on the connector are snapped, and that if I can get at them it shouldn't be too tough of a repair.

That said, I'm pretty new to working on CRTs and entirely new to working on anything this small - so I'm not sure how best to proceed with disassembly! It looks like the vertical "control" board comes out with one screw and the connector at the rear left, but I imagine I will need to get the main board out as well. Photo is attached.

Has anyone worked on one of these, or are there some general tips for how I should approach getting at the main board?

Or - even better - is there a source for a copy of the service manual? From trolling around on the archive.org version of the old Radio Shack support site I was able to dig up a part number of MS1600108 for it, but haven't had any luck finding it.

I know that many of these Portavision models were rebadged OEM models, but I haven't been able to determine if that's the case for this one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_15871.jpg (89.5 KB, 28 views)
Old 03-30-2021, 02:53 PM
VideoKarma Member

Usually the CRT has to come off. The front panel is often held on with
claws instead of screws. After thats out of the way you can look for screws or claws on the bottom PCB. Once the bottom is off you should be able to
fix most anything.Jacks usually get cold joints & sometimes the etch will lift & break.
You can hang the CRT in to troubleshoot but use cardboard to keep things from touching.

Service manuals are tough on these little sets. If it has an FCC type acceptance