Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 09-10-2023, 07:12 PM
VideoKarma Member

d2240r Zenith B&W TV

I have a Zenith d2240r B&W TV from the late 50s. This is in a wooden case and its in sams 449. I have had it in storage in my workshop and pulled it out to look at it. I did take the back off and it looks clean inside for that era, its been stored in a dry place since it was no longer used.

I am a little worried and have a question on it. My TV repair skills are rusty, I was a novice at that years ago. I am more familiar with radios and amps. The one thing I did notice is the Yolk on the back of the tube. I noticed it had got hot and was charred. So it looks like it overheated and burned the varnish off the windings.

With that said are these yolks from the late 50s Zenith hard to find and is this a symptom of something that would make it not worth fixing? I would really like to get this set going and such but I don't want to put a lot of time and money in it to find out its not fixable. I have some dealership signs I picked up and I think they are from the same era so that is one reason I would like to fix it. Another reason is I had one of the old Zenith B&W tvs when I was a kid and I have been looking for one for years.
Old 09-10-2023, 07:49 PM
M is for Memory

This era of Zenith the yoke back covers are made of an unstable plastic that crystalizes and turns to dust, also the varnish on the windings often was clear instead of the vivid red used later. It's possible that the yoke is still ok.
You can check the yoke by ringing it with an oscilloscope, B&K Analyst, or a dedicated yoke ringing meter.

Sam's probably lists some generic replacements for the yoke in the parts list. Merit, Thordarson/Haldorson, ram, etc... Sometimes those generic subs can still be located if you search the brand and number.