Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Flat Panels & Digital Format

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2015, 04:41 PM
toxcrusadr's Avatar
toxcrusadr toxcrusadr is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 298
2 for 3 for recapping flatscreens - Lesson Learned on #3

I've recapped the power supply board on two different 32"ers that wouldn't come on and both worked after that, so I was feeling pretty confident. Came across a 36" or 38" Emerson and gave it the same treatment. Alas, I should have paid more attention to that little dent in the screen before bringing it home.



Hey, it powered up though.

Think I should put a frame around it and sell it as art? I'm going to call it "Fractus Electronica" and put a $500 price tag on it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Cracked TV.jpg (99.4 KB, 228 views)
__________________
Summer's here and the time is right.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2015, 06:01 PM
rca2000's Avatar
rca2000 rca2000 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Posts: 2,096
I TOO...usually have GOOD Luck bringing flat sets form the curb or such. SO much so.,...that I now have THREE of them FIXED here....and one MORE NEARLY so. ALl I have left to do to it....it dis-assemble the panel and clean BEHIND it, likely the diffuser panel...of the SMOKE TRAILS on it... They are NOT visible when the set is off...BUT CAN be seen o SOME scenes....as "dark shadows that do NOT move with the programming. This IS somewhat commmon on LCD sets....since the panels are NOT truly sealed...and smoke from cigarettes or stoves or such WILL leave deposits on the diffuser BEHIND the LCD panel. CRT's--as we all know..were SEALED...at least the BONDED ones were....and so this does NOT happen to them. but LCD panels are NOT.

Now the question becomes....what do I DO....with all of these flat sets...AFTER I fix them? ONE I am using...2 others, a 42" westinghouse and a 32" Sharp I am NOT using...both work well...the sharp is missing the stand. I do NOT really wish to keep them "hanging around here" taking up space in my living room...forever.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2015, 06:12 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxcrusadr View Post
I've recapped the power supply board on two different 32"ers that wouldn't come on and both worked after that, so I was feeling pretty confident. Came across a 36" or 38" Emerson and gave it the same treatment. Alas, I should have paid more attention to that little dent in the screen before bringing it home.



Hey, it powered up though.

Think I should put a frame around it and sell it as art? I'm going to call it "Fractus Electronica" and put a $500 price tag on it.
Or use the working set to show the boards are good for a quick sell on eBay. I sold some Samsung plasma boards in one week that way - a weld shop tossed the set, I recapped it to find a deep scratch, but had viewable programs on the screen - sold the boards for 210 bux, not bad for a curb crawl with 12 dollars worth of caps replaced.
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2015, 01:12 PM
toxcrusadr's Avatar
toxcrusadr toxcrusadr is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by rca2000 View Post
I TOO...usually have GOOD Luck bringing flat sets form the curb or such. SO much so.,...that I now have THREE of them FIXED here....and one MORE NEARLY so. ALl I have left to do to it....it dis-assemble the panel and clean BEHIND it, likely the diffuser panel...of the SMOKE TRAILS on it... They are NOT visible when the set is off...BUT CAN be seen o SOME scenes....as "dark shadows that do NOT move with the programming. This IS somewhat commmon on LCD sets....since the panels are NOT truly sealed...and smoke from cigarettes or stoves or such WILL leave deposits on the diffuser BEHIND the LCD panel. CRT's--as we all know..were SEALED...at least the BONDED ones were....and so this does NOT happen to them. but LCD panels are NOT.

Now the question becomes....what do I DO....with all of these flat sets...AFTER I fix them? ONE I am using...2 others, a 42" westinghouse and a 32" Sharp I am NOT using...both work well...the sharp is missing the stand. I do NOT really wish to keep them "hanging around here" taking up space in my living room...forever.
Sell em on Craigslist man! Find out what new ones are going for and ask for half. Plus you can say the bad caps have all been changed out so it should be reliable for quite awhile.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Findm-Keepm View Post
Or use the working set to show the boards are good for a quick sell on eBay. I sold some Samsung plasma boards in one week that way - a weld shop tossed the set, I recapped it to find a deep scratch, but had viewable programs on the screen - sold the boards for 210 bux, not bad for a curb crawl with 12 dollars worth of caps replaced.
Hmm! I had no idea anyone would want boards. I'll check that out. I've been avoiding ebay because of the high costs and scammers, but I don't have a lot of coin invested here.
__________________
Summer's here and the time is right.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2015, 01:32 PM
CoogarXR's Avatar
CoogarXR CoogarXR is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 608
I keep one of those super-bright LED flashlights on my bench. I look over the screen carefully with it before working on it. Usually even the smallest cracks can be seen with a bright enough light.

I still have been screwed by dead pixel lines and bad tab bonds, heh. You can't win 'em all!
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 10-09-2015, 11:18 PM
Captainclock Captainclock is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Elkhart, Indiana
Posts: 1,190
Looks like someone chucked their Wii Controller at the TV after they lost at Wii Bowling...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2015, 07:37 AM
powerking powerking is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Hampshire, U.S.A.
Posts: 126
[Now the question becomes....what do I DO....with all of these flat sets...AFTER I fix them?]



Give them to relatives or friends with a no holds barred "taillight guarantee"

http://www.urbandictionary.com/defin...light+warranty


Tom(PK)

Last edited by powerking; 10-18-2015 at 07:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2015, 08:52 AM
rca2000's Avatar
rca2000 rca2000 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: cincinnati,ohio
Posts: 2,096
One has gone to a friend....the 42 inch westinghouse. made me about $100 after expenses.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2016, 12:47 PM
toxcrusadr's Avatar
toxcrusadr toxcrusadr is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 298
My 32" Toshiba that I successfully recapped last fall has crapped out this week. Suddenly one evening it did not come on after running fine that morning. I have yet to open it up, will check for fuses and obvious burnt components first. Dang it.
__________________
Summer's here and the time is right.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2016, 02:08 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,826
If I had spare large screen flatpanels laying around I'd use some as large screen computer monitors.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 03-18-2016, 07:24 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,041
That's what I did with a $10 Akai I got not long ago, a 27" computer monitor is huge at close range. At the new house I'm going to wall mount it and get a Bluetooth keyboard so I don't wreck my eyes.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-13-2017, 02:39 PM
toxcrusadr's Avatar
toxcrusadr toxcrusadr is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central Missouri
Posts: 298
Got 3 more sets recapped last month, it's amazing how fast it is when you have the parts in hand and have a vacuum desoldering station to remove the old caps. Score is 2 out of 3 on the latest batch:

32" Samsung - went perfectly, nice set, finally have a set big enough to see from across the room in my basement.

22" Acer monitor - When I grabbed this while dropping off electronic scrap, I thought it was a TV only to find it's just a monitor. But a nice one and it fired right up after recapping. Not sure how I'll use it but I'm setting up a security camera/DVR system and it would make a dandy monitor for that.

20" Emerson with built in DVD player - This one was a dud. No bulging caps visible, and all the originals were Nichicon, so I was a little skeptical that a recap would do it. Turns out I was right, it doesn't power up at all. I don't have any experience with these sets beyond cap disease, what else can go wrong? I guess I should check that control voltage is actually getting to the power button and back to wherever. Maybe a relay?

So over time it seems to be about 2/3 that work with a recap.
__________________
Summer's here and the time is right.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-13-2017, 09:34 PM
mstaton's Avatar
mstaton mstaton is offline
"Book em Dano!"
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Caldwell, Id
Posts: 1,590
Those Enersons usually have shorted diodes or mosfets with a blown fuse. Built bu Funai if thats any indication.
__________________
"It's a mad mad mad mad world" !!
http://www.youtube.com/user/mwstaton64?feature=mhee
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-14-2017, 06:30 AM
timmy's Avatar
timmy timmy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ferndale ny
Posts: 1,811
I have a 32 inch Emerson that needed the kit I bought on eBay for those sets that has an upgraded diode ,the cause in the first place, and the mosfet and Zener and several other parts . The kit was 25.00. Set still works after 3 years so far.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-16-2017, 06:24 PM
MadMan's Avatar
MadMan MadMan is offline
'A Disgusting Brony'
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Chicago
Posts: 300
rip.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.