Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-03-2004, 09:51 AM
behind the scenes

Help a total newbie on Andrea Radio

Any places to look for info or pictures on consumer Andrea Radio. I missed what I would call a table tube radio on Ebay a month or so ago, and it haunts me. It was old, maybe 30's/40's. Wood case with the dial set in a panel maybe 45 degrees across the front edge. The name Andrea Radio done in what looked like gold lettering above the dial. I find very little other than miliatry stuff on Andrea radio. Any help greatly appreciated.
Old 05-03-2004, 11:06 AM
VideoKarma Member

You may also try searching under FADA; I think FADA radio is somehow related to Andrea (FADA= Frank A. D'Andrea, I believe the founder of the company.) It seems as though Andrea was a badge used more on TV's than radios.
Old 05-07-2004, 10:41 PM
AK Member

Chad is right in there being more information available about Andrea Radio under FADA. It seems that Mr. D'Andrea is better known for his pioneering work in television than for his radios.

Here are a couple of links you might find interesting:

http://classicradiogallery.com/fada_history.html

http://www.tvhistory.tv/1946-49-ANDREA.htm

Pictures seem rather scarce, but I did find these three. Very handsome radios! The first one seems similiar to the one you described, though it appears to have been spoiled by a whitewashing.
Old 05-07-2004, 11:00 PM
behind the scenes

Wow Paula you are a Princess. The first one is what I'm looking for, minus the white wash.
Old 11-08-2004, 12:39 PM
behind the scenes

I found a better picture of the painted Andrea Radio. I'm still looking for one like this or similiar. It does not have to work.
Audiokarma
Old 11-08-2004, 01:34 PM
Spiteful Old Cuss