Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Rectangular Screen Tube Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-18-2017, 08:36 AM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by pac.attack76 View Post
I moved the tubes again but only before startup with no change. Can I move them while they're on?
6J10 / 6Z10 are subs & came double marked.
See tuner type ( 175-###) & compare with with manual to be sure
it has the right mix/osc tube. Do not sub, may work but not right.

Turn channels. You should see & hear loud static crashes. If you
do odds are the tuner is dead. If you dont its the IF's.
While running pull one IF tube at a time. Example:
Pull 1st if no effect
Pull 2nd IF & you see & hear things. This means the 3rd is OK
& probably the 2nd is bad.
This is all crude signal injecting & with practice it can show you a lot
in seconds to narrow things down. You can also do tube tapping.
Lightly tap tubes & see if it pops back in. When the set is all fixed you
can also tap them. This can find int shorting tubes & dirty sockets.
Oh yes the hum may or may not be related. Consider it a second
problem for now & ignore it for now.

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-18-2017, 01:17 PM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 830
Moved all 3 of them one at a time starting from the back and no changes at all. Also turning the channels doesn't do anything either.
__________________
cedmagic.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-18-2017, 01:35 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,645
If you did that with the set on, then there are a few things I could see it being: an AGC issue, bad video detector diode, loss of B+ to the IF system.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-18-2017, 06:03 PM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 830
Set was working when tossed. I doubt the 7 or 8 months of sitting i
outside in the junk pile did it any good. I wanted to try and save it but at the same time, space is limited and I really don't want to put much into it. Not sure what to do at this point.
__________________
cedmagic.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-18-2017, 06:11 PM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 830
I'm just wondering if the mixer/osc is wrong. It's supposed to have a 6EA8 but the one I have in there has the numbers rubbed off so I can't tell. If I look through my lot and can not find a 6EA8, what is a suitable sub?
__________________
cedmagic.com
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #21  
Old 05-18-2017, 09:52 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,731
6GH8, possibly a 6U8A and 6CQ8 (odd!) as well. Each tube has it's idiosyncrasies, so the sub manuals always have the asterisk or a foot note.

One manufacturer actually made a dual marked 6EA8/6GH8 - but they were short lived, as no other manufacturer jumped on the bandwagon..

http://www.smcelectronics.com/DOWNLO...SUB%201980.PDF
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-19-2017, 12:14 AM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 830
A life saver as always. I'll check and see if I have any of those.
__________________
cedmagic.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-19-2017, 09:48 AM
roundscreen roundscreen is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: buffalo ny
Posts: 374
The correct tube numbers for the tuner should be stamped on the tuner. Most Zenith tuners have this. scrape all the tubes pins with a small flat head screw driver. And hit the tube sockets with Deoxit or some kind of cleaner. It's a pita to do, But if the chassis was outside, all of the sockets Will need to be cleaned.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-19-2017, 01:50 PM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 830
Tried two subs and still the same. Maybe capacitor issue now? Component level. Issues mentioned earlier.
__________________
cedmagic.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-19-2017, 07:46 PM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 830
Worked on it for the last 3 hours. Caps all check good. Finally did get the static sound along with tuner activity but still hear hum sound and cannot get a pic on screen. Moved if tubes around and changed to different locations. Not sure what else I can do with the resources I have.
__________________
cedmagic.com
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.