Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 12-06-2012, 08:58 PM
VideoKarma Member

Power Issue with a Zenith SM1973 System 3 Space Command with Space Phone

Hi,

This set was our basement TV after i snagged it at the ETF a few years ago for $5. It was made in 1979, has the Ultrasonic Space Command 3500 remote, and all of the documentation, including the bill of sale dated 10/30/80 for $689.95 without the stand, manual and door hang tag.

I want to turn it on one day, and all it does is make this mototboating type sound out of the speaker, no picture or anything else.

Any ideas about this issue, or which module in the mess of modules and wires that could be the issue.

I have never worked on a Zenith before.

Thanks,

Matt
Old 12-06-2012, 10:42 PM
VideoKarma Member

First thing I'd do is look for bad solder connections on the 9-160 module.
Old 12-06-2012, 11:52 PM
VideoKarma Member

OK, I will start there.
Old 12-07-2012, 12:06 AM
VideoKarma Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by radiotvnut View Post
First thing I'd do is look for bad solder connections on the 9-160 module.
Isn't that like a common issue with those? I'm surprised Zenith of all companies would have such bad soldering.
Old 12-07-2012, 09:08 AM
VideoKarma Member

Sure its a common problem. The 9-160 module used to be really easy to find for replacements, too.

I never had one come back after a good resolder job.

The big can capacitor is another common failure.
Audiokarma
Old 12-07-2012, 09:28 AM
VideoKarma Member

If memory serves me right, look also for oxidized connectors on the 9-160 module. They can cause that also.
Solder problems... made in Mexico. At least the module is not ROHS and filled with that wonderful no lead solder....
Old 12-07-2012, 11:19 AM
Learning as I go

What is space phone?
Old 12-07-2012, 01:17 PM
<----Zenith C845

Quote: