Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Introductions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 02-07-2016, 02:23 PM
VideoKarma Member

New enthusiast

Hi I am looking forward to being a member of this community. I am a novice with no electronics background. I just acquired a 1953 Capehart 21 inch BW in good cosmetic exterior shape. Model number7h214M, serial number 578928. Chassis CX-37-1 and R 02 - 03. In note with disappointment that there is a Comet EC-63 picture tube brightner installed.

Any advice? Specifically
-How to test picture tube
- Schematics available?
-What equipment do I need.
- Any other relevant matters I am not aware of?

Thanks!
Old 02-07-2016, 02:37 PM
VideoKarma Member

Pictures of the Capehart

From the Ad. I will post more detailed pics soon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 00e0e_bAQm0z7otlZ_600x450.jpg (24.5 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg 01212_e6K4t0AGuCq_600x450.jpg (17.5 KB, 21 views)
Old 02-07-2016, 02:53 PM
M is for Memory

A monochrome TV is the second (first would be a color TV) most complex consumer market tube era electronic device, and not a good first electronic project for anyone. I'd highly recommend that you find a cheap common AA5 tube radio and make that your first project....It will teach you skills that will provide a foundation and help you on the TV.

As for the TV.
You will need to buy a CRT tester, or borrow one from someone local who has one. You can't accurately test the quality of a CRT any other way.

Google "Sam's Photofact" that should bring up their site where you can search the chassis and or model numbers, that search if it yields results should give you a Sam's number. You could buy the schematic from them, but it is usually much cheaper elsewhere.