Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early B&W and Projection TV

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 05-29-2011, 08:23 PM
Administrator

RCA T-120 for $50 BIN

With a stand no less.

Big heavy set but a heck of a deal at that price.

http://cgi.ebay.com/RCA-Victor-T-120...item2c5d07cc1b
Old 06-05-2011, 06:06 PM
Administrator

Hard to believe but $50 wasn't cheap enough, someone placed a low bid, now it's up to $61 with an hour to go.

As clean as it is and with the stand I'd expect at least $100 for it even if it's not a terribly popular model.
Old 06-05-2011, 06:56 PM
VideoKarma Member

It's been a while since I've seen one this clean and nice!
Old 06-07-2011, 01:19 PM
Resident Lunatic

Meet the winner.

Hey guys! I'm new to Videokarma. Interestingly enough, I was the winner of this set. I'll admit that I don't know a ton about TV sets, though I have repaired a number of tube radios and even built a couple. I thought this would be a decent set to learn with. Any thoughts? I ended up paying $75 bucks for it. Did I get a deal? How does one "get started" in TV restoration? Is it possible I may have bitten off more than I can chew with this set?
Anyway, advice or words of encouragement would be greatly encouraged.

Thanks,
Benny
Old 06-07-2011, 02:12 PM
M is for Memory

I have a similar model (9-T-246), and they are not the easyest sets to get working(mine still has some bugs that boggle me a bit),though it can be done. If I had to recomend a first set I'd reccomend a early to mid 50's Philco split chassis set(mine came back to life with the doudler supply components, and paper capacitors replaced). I've also often heard others reccomend early 50's Admirals as a first TV restoration canidate.

That is my .02$

Tom C.
Audiokarma
Old 06-07-2011, 02:42 PM
VideoKarma Member