Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Game Tech & How To

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2016, 01:47 PM
1980'sTVman's Avatar
1980'sTVman 1980'sTVman is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Northern VA, DC Metro area
Posts: 21
First Gaming PC No signal on monitor.

UPDATE: I let my friend write this because he was building his first gaming PC and had an issue, he ended up replacing his mobo and he's fine now thank you all though.

So I just finished building my first gaming PC. Everything turns on all the LED's and Fans. I plugged my HDMI cable to my graphics card to my monitor and it said no signal. Then I tried the VGA cable with a VGA adapter and it still displayed no signal. I also used the HDMI input on my motherboard and it still didn't work. I also plugged my keyboard to test it and the lights didn't light up. My specs: I7 6700k MSI Krait Gaming Mothoerboard Gtx 980ti EVGA GQ 750w power supply Hp 1080p monitor.

This is posted on PCPartPicker.com too

https://pcpartpicker.com/forums/topi...nal-on-monitor

Last edited by 1980'sTVman; 08-08-2016 at 03:14 PM. Reason: added somethin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2016, 10:46 AM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory+Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,582
Has the monitor worked on other sources before? Do you know for sure that your cables are good?
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2016, 11:52 AM
slatton86 slatton86 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: VA, for now
Posts: 73
Check the power cables on the video card. I forget about those a lot. Also make sure your screen is plugged in before you power on the PC so that port will be activated. At worst take out the video card and use the onboard to configure the BIOS. ake sure it boots PCI-E graphics first and make sure that card is EFI compatible (it should be) and set the BIOS accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2016, 03:47 PM
kschrief kschrief is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 9
Unfortunately it's also possible that your card is DOA, but it's more than likely one of the above issues.

Re-seating it a few times could be a potential solution as well before you dive into the BIOS. Note that I said a few times. I had a card that appeared to stop working. Re-seated once. Nothing. Twice, nothing. Of course when I brought it in for a professional to look at it, and they re-seated it time number 3, it worked just fine. A nice $100 vacation for my computer.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.