Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-10-2016, 06:45 AM
rob Cashin's Avatar
rob Cashin rob Cashin is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 87
How did you make out on powering the set up?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-10-2016, 08:33 AM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob Cashin View Post
How did you make out on powering the set up?
The flyback has been cooked to open, see previous posts. Waiting for tubes for more testing.

John H.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-10-2016, 09:38 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,032
Take the tire off and see if the break is near the surface, if it is you might be able to repair it. If not, like you said you can always do the tripler mod.
__________________
Evolution...
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-12-2016, 08:09 AM
DavGoodlin's Avatar
DavGoodlin DavGoodlin is offline
Motorola Minion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: near Strasburg PA
Posts: 2,672
The HV rect plate lead broke off of a 1955 GE flyback because it was super stiff and I was not careful pulling it off, where the 1B3 was outside the fly "can".

Wax was already crumbling off the tire so I was able to make a connection just a few turns short, use an exacto knife and hyper-eutectic solder. Shmutz with black RTV when done. I wish you good luck.
__________________
Dave G
WTB: 15DP4
Cabinet for 1936 RCA 4T6, 5T6 or 5T8
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-17-2016, 09:05 AM
Radiotronman's Avatar
Radiotronman Radiotronman is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 560
I've got a Philco roundie too and believe they have the most comparable picture to more modern sets. Great find and I wished mine had the eye tube. The mIssing control door seems to be common on these sets too.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1515.jpg (68.9 KB, 109 views)
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #36  
Old 10-30-2016, 12:23 PM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
Brought this Philco white elephant in from van finally and fired up by degrees with variac. Like in another thread- http://www.videokarma.org/showthread.php?t=253593 - my focus coil is blackened and began to mildly smoke. BUT I ordered a new Workman replacement from Talon (edit- not Frontier Electronics)!

WHY do these burn up is what I want to know.....

Last edited by Hagstar; 10-30-2016 at 09:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 10-30-2016, 02:12 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,808
Link to Frontier? My CTC16 smoked it's focus coil, and is now using my only replacement....I'd like to order one too.

Edit: My CTC16 set had a bad focus rectifier causing the focus coil to burn up, so I replaced it with a solid state one, but you never know...
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 10-30-2016, 02:35 PM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
Talon not Frontier sorry, and I seem to have purchased the only one but Playthings of the Past has a ctc15 one and a couple others.

http://www.talonix.com/shop/category.aspx?catid=34

Last edited by Hagstar; 10-30-2016 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 10-31-2016, 11:56 AM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
Answering my own question- per a Philco repair manual focus coils on these models may have two "sharp" positions and using the wrong one may cause overheating.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 10-31-2016, 12:45 PM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
And NOW Moyer Electronics is sending me a $50- NOS flyback!!!!! Already ordered a cheap tripler BUT this is much better.

Last edited by Hagstar; 10-31-2016 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #41  
Old 11-01-2016, 03:18 PM
DavGoodlin's Avatar
DavGoodlin DavGoodlin is offline
Motorola Minion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: near Strasburg PA
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagstar View Post
And NOW Moyer Electronics is sending me a $50- NOS flyback!!!!! Already ordered a cheap tripler BUT this is much better.
Way to go! -
__________________
Dave G
WTB: 15DP4
Cabinet for 1936 RCA 4T6, 5T6 or 5T8
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-06-2016, 12:39 PM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
The new focus coil is installed the Philco- no more burning there, old flyback still in. But though screen of the horz. output tube is fed the right voltage of B+ once the tube *warms up* it plummets to like 70 volts from 260 even though cap plate lead is off. Grid input voltage is a little off specs at -55 (listed as -60). Another mystery.

Last edited by Hagstar; 11-06-2016 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-06-2016, 01:49 PM
kvflyer kvflyer is online now
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Catonsville, MD, USA
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagstar View Post
The new focus coil is installed the Philco- no more burning there, old flyback still in. But though the horz. output tube is fed the right voltage of B+ once the tube *warms up* it plummets to like 70 volts from 260 even though cap plate lead is off. Grid input voltage is a little off specs at -55 (listed as -60). Another mystery.
Grid emission? High power tubes are suspect.
Do you have a new Horizontal Output Tube?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-06-2016, 04:00 PM
DaveWM DaveWM is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 5,601
check the HV setup pot. It bias the H Out tube, so it setting will directly effect the voltage reading.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-07-2016, 02:40 PM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
I have the answer- massive arc-over of the high voltage insulating cup under the high voltage rectifier. Ordered a new one.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.