Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2018, 02:14 AM
Jeff-20's Avatar
Jeff-20 Jeff-20 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 49
1976 RCA picture problem

Anyone here want to take a shot at diagnosing a picture problem?

RCA solid state 17 inch black and white. Sound is ok. Picture seems small. Channel tuner seems very fickle.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7210.jpg (102.0 KB, 125 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2018, 08:36 AM
kf4rca kf4rca is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 267
Low voltage from power supply.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2018, 08:53 AM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,236
Tuner probably just needs cleaning.
Size problem probably power supply.
Post the CHASSIS number from inside its like KCS###
and maybe we can give some hints.

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2018, 04:29 PM
Jeff-20's Avatar
Jeff-20 Jeff-20 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 49
Inside it reads:
KCS202R
RWZ Li
2747622-0(?)
REV 005

I can remove the tuner, but I am not sure what to do with it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2018, 05:04 PM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,236
OK I pulled the manual & its a simple set to deal with.
For the others its the B&W chassis with modules. A common & good set.
Before we go any further need to know what experience you have.
Also if you have a meter. You WILL need a meter for the size problem.
Let me look on Utube for a tuner cleaning video. You can use
WD40 but its best to use very little & put it in the best places........

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 11-17-2018, 07:29 PM
Eric H's Avatar
Eric H Eric H is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 11,384
Are you sure the size issue isn't the source (Video Game?) feeding it a cropped image? If you put it on a blank channel does the screen fill out?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2018, 02:24 AM
Jeff-20's Avatar
Jeff-20 Jeff-20 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 49
THanks, everyone. I am consolidating responses from two different threads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dishdude View Post
The picture looks pretty darn good. How do you have the game console connected to the set? Lets see some more pics.
Yes, I can no longer get analog stations, so I connected an Atari VCS to the antenna screws via an Atari RF switch box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieseljeep View Post
Picture looks pretty darn snowy! Try wiggling the selector knob. If it gets clearer, clean the tuner. If not, look at the connections to the antenna.
The reduced display size looks like the source is producing it!
A power supply problem would produce some distortion in the display, IE ripples.
The image is usually distorted when I first turn it on. I have to nudge or wiggle the channel knob a bit before the image comes in with snow. (pics below)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric H View Post
Are you sure the size issue isn't the source (Video Game?) feeding it a cropped image? If you put it on a blank channel does the screen fill out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel
Are you trying to run it with some kind of a TV game? I don't remember if that model has a coax input. Try it with a DTV convertor instead.
I bought and connected a digital tuner, and the image was still small (pic below).

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeno View Post
OK I pulled the manual & its a simple set to deal with.
For the others its the B&W chassis with modules. A common & good set.
Before we go any further need to know what experience you have.
Also if you have a meter. You WILL need a meter for the size problem.
Let me look on Utube for a tuner cleaning video. You can use
WD40 but its best to use very little & put it in the best places........
Yes, please. I bought a meter (pic below), but I am new to using them. I've poked around arcade crt monitors, but I would need guidance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv1.jpg (64.4 KB, 58 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7260.jpg (78.4 KB, 143 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7257.jpg (73.9 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7266.jpg (72.3 KB, 65 views)

Last edited by Jeff-20; 11-18-2018 at 02:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2018, 08:23 AM
kf4rca kf4rca is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 267
I thought it was an LPTV you were tuned to. There's an LPTV in this market that looks like that (very snowy). There are still a few analog signals on the air.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-18-2018, 09:31 AM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,236
Look around the main PCB for a crack. Especially where it is soldered
to the main frame. IIRC I had a few of the similar 12" sets with
cracks. Also be sure the modules are seated. Almost has to be moving
damage.

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-18-2018, 11:13 AM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 10,273
My thoughts based on the recent pics:

Seller pic shows some snow. The tuner was probably dirty then and has gotten worse.

Your snow picture shows that the raster almost completely fills the screen which points to two things: the small bit of wavy underscan on the side is probably one or more power supply lytics failing. And all your current signal sources are cropping the image...Your DTV box should have crop/zoom settings try playing with them...Also try different channels as some channels lock the zoom/crop settings such that a box can't fix it.

One more thought there is an analog channel 6 in the Chicago market (they are pretending to be an FM radio station, but have to keep their video carrier on to send audio) you may want to try tuning them.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 11-18-2018, 02:08 PM
Eric H's Avatar
Eric H Eric H is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 11,384
Didn't know you had it shipped, check to see if the Yoke has slid back on the neck of the CRT.

The pictures is small but perfect, bad power supply will usually have some other symptoms.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2018, 02:21 PM
dishdude's Avatar
dishdude dishdude is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 544
Get rid of that Atari switch box, they were garbage when they were new.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-18-2018, 05:06 PM
Jeff-20's Avatar
Jeff-20 Jeff-20 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 49
As always, I have to jiggle the tuner a bit to get a signal. I was able to tune in channel 6. It was on 7 at first, so I had to fine tune for a bit. I get clear audio but no video, but this is the same on my working tvs.

I am including more interior images (excuse the quality). I can include links to youtube video if helpful.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7283.jpg (102.1 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7284.jpg (89.4 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7286.jpg (94.1 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7287.jpg (80.0 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7285.jpg (83.8 KB, 27 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-18-2018, 05:10 PM
Jeff-20's Avatar
Jeff-20 Jeff-20 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 49
... It's also worth noting that when it arrived, the lower left part of the screen was pushed into the frame. I snapped back pretty easily, but could be relevant. I'm including images of the packaging as well.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7200.jpg (78.7 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7201.jpg (56.8 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7295.jpg (49.2 KB, 38 views)

Last edited by Jeff-20; 11-18-2018 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-18-2018, 05:44 PM
Eric H's Avatar
Eric H Eric H is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: So. Calif
Posts: 11,384
Loosen the yoke clamp and make sure it's pushed all the way up against the back of the tube. It looks okay but obviously the set took a hard hit if the tube was dislodged.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.