Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Early Color Television

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2017, 11:46 AM
Kevin Kuehn's Avatar
Kevin Kuehn Kevin Kuehn is online now
Workin' Late Again
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 2,847
3A3 High Voltage Cup Part Numbers

Dose anyone have the RCA part number for these above chassis style 3A3 high voltage cups, or a generic industry equivalent? There must have been gazillions of sets that used basically this same cup. I've run across them by accident in the past, but now it escapes me where to even look.


Last edited by Kevin Kuehn; 02-16-2017 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2017, 12:17 PM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,792
IIRC Workman resold these. Someone must have an
old catalog & that would give you some numbers to start with.

73 Zeno
LFOD !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2017, 02:42 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 8,991
I think I have one or two that would work. If you need one let me know. Unless that one arced through somewhere it still looks usable (just not as pretty as new ) to me.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:35 PM
Kevin Kuehn's Avatar
Kevin Kuehn Kevin Kuehn is online now
Workin' Late Again
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 2,847
Sure it still works. I'm just trying to track down the RCA number, or possibly a sub for future reference. I can't find one on ebay for anything, which doesn't really surprise me because most folks that run across one wouldn't know what the heck it was for or what to call it. There has to be some laying around someplace. It's kind of like the elusive Zenith convergence cloverleaf.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2017, 03:56 PM
Jon A.'s Avatar
Jon A. Jon A. is offline
Bullies beware.
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,974
I tried Googling "tube plate cap". Found this right away:

https://www.rfparts.com/tubes/tubes-platecaps.html

There are three on the second page with different diameters, you should find what you need there. They're cheap too.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 02-16-2017, 04:14 PM
Kevin Kuehn's Avatar
Kevin Kuehn Kevin Kuehn is online now
Workin' Late Again
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 2,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon A. View Post
I tried Googling "tube plate cap". Found this right away:

https://www.rfparts.com/tubes/tubes-platecaps.html

There are three on the second page with different diameters, you should find what you need there. They're cheap too.
What I meant by HV cup is the clear part the tube sets inside.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2017, 05:42 PM
N2IXK's Avatar
N2IXK N2IXK is offline
Technohippie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sittin' on the "Group W" bench...
Posts: 745
I've got one here you can have for the cost of shipping. PM me if interested...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2017, 05:59 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,835
Maybe the guy Dubis7 could 3D print one from ABS or similar material.

In a pinch, make one from acrylic - one large cylinder, one base plate, and two standoffs, and a little MEK or epoxy. I have a plastics fab guy.........I would just need rough dimensions, and the center to center on the tube socket screws.

Tube/cylinder: http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/item.aspx?itemid=23401

Rod/Standoff: http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/ite...4197&catid=440

Baseplate: http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/ite...5649&catid=442

Anybody know the breakdown voltage of Schedule 40 pipe?
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!

Last edited by Findm-Keepm; 02-16-2017 at 06:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2017, 09:29 AM
miniman82's Avatar
miniman82 miniman82 is offline
First Light: 1952-2011
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Kuehn
What I meant by HV cup is the clear part the tube sets inside.
I found this on eBay last year, it was not labeled correctly so I stumbled across it for $5. Number on the box is 78215, made of polystyrene.



There's also the later ones, from the tall cage chassis like the 16. They are identical in dimension, they just have that little angle in them which was necessary due to where they sit in the cage. If you don't mind the angle, I can send you that one since I don't really need it.

__________________
Evolution...

Last edited by miniman82; 05-15-2017 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2017, 11:12 AM
Kevin Kuehn's Avatar
Kevin Kuehn Kevin Kuehn is online now
Workin' Late Again
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 2,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post

There's also the later ones, from the tall cage chassis like the 16. They are identical in dimension, they just have that little angle in them which was necessary due to where they sit in the cage. If you don't mind the angle, I can send you that one since I don't really need it.
Thanks for the offer. I took N2IXK up on his so I should be good for now. Searching that RCA number I now see there is one NOS on ebay.
I also ran across these Workman numbers last night on Ralph's Industrial Electronics, unfortunately without pictures so its a little difficult to decipher what they fit, but his prices look decent. http://www.ralphselectronics.com/Sea...est=%23%20Bolt

Last edited by Kevin Kuehn; 02-17-2017 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:17 PM
dieseljeep dieseljeep is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post
I found this on eBay last year, it was not labeled correctly so I stumbled across it for $5. Number on the box is 78215, made of polystyrene.



There's also the later ones, from the tall cage chassis like the 16. They are identical in dimension, they just have that little angle in them which was necessary due to where they sit in the cage. If you don't mind the angle, I can send you that one since I don't really need it.

]
The insulator with the angle was for the 15's and the clones and possibly the 12. The 16 used the smaller insulator, where the 3A3 plate went into the top of the winding.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-17-2017, 03:02 PM
oldtvman's Avatar
oldtvman oldtvman is offline
Larry Melton (oldtvman)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mishawaka, Indiana
Posts: 717
What make and model do you have, I have lots of nos parts
__________________
[IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-17-2017, 10:23 PM
Findm-Keepm's Avatar
Findm-Keepm Findm-Keepm is offline
Followin' the Rules...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Kuehn View Post
Thanks for the offer. I took N2IXK up on his so I should be good for now. Searching that RCA number I now see there is one NOS on ebay.
I also ran across these Workman numbers last night on Ralph's Industrial Electronics, unfortunately without pictures so its a little difficult to decipher what they fit, but his prices look decent. http://www.ralphselectronics.com/Sea...est=%23%20Bolt
I'll check the Workman listings in the Radio-TV Master copies I have. These were huge catalogs with Audio/TV/Video manufacturers listings and data, like the EEM series. Obscure stuff. I also have an Eby catalog - they made 50% of the non-acrylic/polystyrenes stuff (green and white plastic cups...), but listed all the cups, from Admiral to Zenith. I'll check tomorrow - tired tonite.
__________________
Brian
USN RET (Avionics / Cal)
CET- Consumer Repair and Avionics ('88)
"Capacitor Cosmetologist since '79"

When fuses go to work, they quit!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-18-2017, 10:46 PM
Hagstar's Avatar
Hagstar Hagstar is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vermont
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Kuehn View Post
Sure it still works. I'm just trying to track down the RCA number, or possibly a sub for future reference. I can't find one on ebay for anything, which doesn't really surprise me because most folks that run across one wouldn't know what the heck it was for or what to call it. There has to be some laying around someplace. It's kind of like the elusive Zenith convergence cloverleaf.

I bought one on eBay in November, a generic- worked fine in my Philco roundie.

John H.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.