Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Antique Radio

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 08-09-2005, 11:54 PM
We are all steak

Line to ground capacitor

Hi. I just got a Westinghouse H-204 AM/FM radio that I want to restore. Because I am a newbie at this (recapped two Heathkit integrated amps) I was reading up on the hazards of AC/DC radios and came across the article that said you should replace the line to ground capacitor with safety capacitors. I am not 100% sure which one is the line to ground cap. I have attached the schematic. I think it is C21 on the bottom left of the circuit.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Bull Pen: Quad II amps, TAD-60 amp, TAD-150 pre
Old 08-10-2005, 08:38 AM
VideoKarma Member

Hi ldatlof,

Yes, C21 is the line to ground capacitor. I had been ordering Vishay caps from Newark but they don't seem to have them in stock anymore. The value of the safety caps used in the sets originally creates more leakage current from line to ground than is acceptable by todays standards. A smaller value capacitor is usually used as a replacement. I have been using the 4700pF cap in the 440L series found on this datasheet: http://www.vishay.com/docs/23092/aclinecp.pdf
Hope this helps.
Old 08-10-2005, 08:53 AM
VideoKarma Member

This cap in the Westinghouse is actually a noise suppresion capacitor, not a line to chassis isolation cap...the power line connects directly to the chassis and is not isolated with a cap as many sets of this era are. A safety rated cap would be good to help guard against a short on the filament line though. Also I would install a fuse in the hot lead of the powerline for extra protection, like a 1/2 amp.
Watch out for the volume, tuning and switch shafts and chassis screws as they may connect directly to the hot chassis with no isolation.

Last edited by Chad Hauris; 08-10-2005 at 08:55 AM.
Old 08-10-2005, 10:20 PM
We are all steak