Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Things with Motors

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 06-27-2021, 05:31 AM
I love old stuff

How did you got your 1st car

How did you get your 1st car?
Old 06-27-2021, 10:40 AM
See yourself on Color TV!

My dad, who had been a dealer service manager but had developed health issues that prevented him from working, took me to a dealer he knew to get a very cheap used car ($400, about $3300 today) right after I graduated from college (1966), so I had something to drive to work until I built up some savings to make a down payment on a new car. It was probably used in racing, and was blue with one green fender. The engine smoked from the crankcase breather, and the turn signals sometimes didn't work. I had to buy two tires for it immediately because the fronts were bald. But it started and ran OK (at least during the summer) and the automatic transmission worked OK. That fall I bought a new 1966 Mustang, and have owned only new cars ever since.
Old 06-27-2021, 10:56 AM
VideoKarma Member

I mowed yards, ect to get my first car. That was the easy part. Getting insurance was a whole other matter. I was able to get it done all by my self though.
Old 06-27-2021, 11:04 AM
M is for Memory

The summer before my last year of college 2014 I got an internship earned IIRCsomething like 4-5k then spent around 2.5k on my Lincoln that has a thread in this section. I made the rest of the funds last.

Zenith: The quality stays in EVEN after the name falls off!
What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4
Old 06-27-2021, 01:15 PM
The Resident Brony