Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Rectangular Screen Tube Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 02-21-2017, 07:17 PM
VideoKarma Member

1967 Magnaovox Stereo Theatre

I found this 1967 Magnavox color Stereo Theatre on the local craigslist last week and couldn't pass up the opportunity to grab a radio phonograph tv combo. First of all, I must say that I have never worked on a television before. I have worked on radio equipment, however. So I am a TV novice. The limited research I have done seems to indicate the mid 1960's Magnavox TV's were somewhat of a problem child. The early 70's straightened out many of the issues. Is this true? What do I need to look for on this TV, besides the normal capacitor replacement and resistors out of tolerance? It has an RCA "Hi-Lite" NW-H7881 picture tube. Any pointers are greatly appreciated. I want to keep this set original and not replace the TV with a flat screen or bar!
Old 02-21-2017, 07:58 PM
Don't mess with Esther.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amglow View Post
I found this 1967 Magnavox color Stereo Theatre on the local craigslist last week and couldn't pass up the opportunity to grab a radio phonograph tv combo. First of all, I must say that I have never worked on a television before. I have worked on radio equipment, however. So I am a TV novice. The limited research I have done seems to indicate the mid 1960's Magnavox TV's were somewhat of a problem child. The early 70's straightened out many of the issues. Is this true? What do I need to look for on this TV, besides the normal capacitor replacement and resistors out of tolerance? It has an RCA "Hi-Lite" NW-H7881 picture tube. Any pointers are greatly appreciated. I want to keep this set original and not replace the TV with a flat screen or bar!
Good for you. The "upcycling" trend has been done to death.