Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > General Off Topic Forums

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 03-07-2015, 04:17 PM
Dude111 Dude111 is offline
Analogue is Awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,838
Seems like Grumpy forgot to switch the IMAGE links over to this site once AK went down.....

Maybe he will do it sometime...... (When AK gets back on)
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 03-07-2015, 06:45 PM
Username1's Avatar
Username1 Username1 is offline
Not sure how I got here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 3,471
Just to be clear. I have Win 98SE and it has ipconfig. Just in case there is a
difference, I don't have a 98 before SE....


.
__________________
Yes you can call me "Squirrel boy"
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 03-07-2015, 06:51 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,575
I actually forgot that 98 had it. Nevermind.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 03-08-2015, 01:55 AM
Dude111 Dude111 is offline
Analogue is Awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,838
Im glad your running 98se buddy! (So Am I)

A wonderful OS!!!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 03-20-2015, 08:56 PM
centralradio centralradio is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 994
I still use my Win 98 computer from 1998 which is custom made from scratch .

Its a no name Win98. Fire Fox . P2 450 ,10GB HD with 512MB memory with Soundblaster live sound card,Diamond video card,Hauppauge Win-TV capture card,Miro video capture card,Samsung DVDrom ,Philips CD-writer.Digiview 17 inch monitor and Altec Lansing 3 piece speakers.

Now I'm just fed up with all the current crap of software like Adobe Flash and Java and it relatives and what have you they loaded into the websites.
I'll go back and use the win98 machine.

The computer that posting this is a Dell Inspiron from 2008 with Win Vista.

I already had my share of Win 8 and 8.1 on my friend laptop.It sucks.

Meantime I have no issues with this forum loading over here.It runs great with Firefox 36.Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #66  
Old 03-21-2015, 12:51 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,905
Quote:
Originally Posted by centralradio View Post
I still use my Win 98 computer from 1998 which is custom made from scratch .

Its a no name Win98. Fire Fox . P2 450 ,10GB HD with 512MB memory with Soundblaster live sound card,Diamond video card,Hauppauge Win-TV capture card,Miro video capture card,Samsung DVDrom ,Philips CD-writer.Digiview 17 inch monitor and Altec Lansing 3 piece speakers.

Now I'm just fed up with all the current crap of software like Adobe Flash and Java and it relatives and what have you they loaded into the websites.
I'll go back and use the win98 machine.

The computer that posting this is a Dell Inspiron from 2008 with Win Vista.

I already had my share of Win 8 and 8.1 on my friend laptop.It sucks.

Meantime I have no issues with this forum loading over here.It runs great with Firefox 36.Thanks.
Windows 8 is almost as big a pain in the ass (especially if you try to get used to using it with a tablet) as winSlows 98 IMHO.

Windows 7 IMHO is the best combo of user friendly and fast with XP in second place.

I'd highly recommend you try a Windows 7 64-bit machine with as many Gb of ram as you can get. It is about the best windows experience there is. That will smoothly run all that net software you dislike in a way that will make you like it.....Unless you still(!) have dialup....In which case may the god of the net have mercy on your soul....Most up to date-ish sites are so optimized to faster connections that trying to use them with dialup is like trying to play an LP or CED video disc on a windup victrola....
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 03-21-2015, 01:07 PM
lnx64's Avatar
lnx64 lnx64 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 1,575
This is why I had to make Windows 8 work for ME, since this laptop can't run Linux properly.

http://i.imgur.com/XlvpOnd.png

Proper start menu, and the Aero Glass interface on 8.1.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 03-21-2015, 01:52 PM
Electronic M's Avatar
Electronic M Electronic M is offline
M is for Memory
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pewaukee/Delafield Wi
Posts: 9,905
I only spent a few days with a win 8.? tablet at my summer internship. I did not want to change it enough to bother anyone, and there is a BIG learning curve using a tablet for the first time.
__________________
Tom C.

What I want. --> http://www.videokarma.org/showpost.p...62&postcount=4

Reading between the scan lines since the mid 2000's.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 03-22-2015, 03:13 PM
Dude111 Dude111 is offline
Analogue is Awesome
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by centralradio
Now I'm just fed up with all the current crap of software like Adobe Flash and Java and it relatives and what have you they loaded into the websites.
I'll go back and use the win98 machine.
Very good my friend,its good you are awake!!!!!

NOTHING @ ALL WRONG WITH WINDOWS 98se
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-21-2016, 02:46 PM
petehall347 petehall347 is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 20
is audiokarma site down for everyone or is it just me ?
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #71  
Old 02-21-2016, 02:59 PM
catrafter's Avatar
catrafter catrafter is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Montana
Posts: 1
It's down for me too, 'database error'

Tom
__________________
Computer System - Marantz 4300 - Pioneer CS-33A speakers.
Workshop System - Marantz 1060 - AR S10 bookshelf speakers.

Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-21-2016, 03:22 PM
AdamAnt316's Avatar
AdamAnt316 AdamAnt316 is offline
Collector of heavy things
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 104
I'm not entirely surprised. When I refreshed the AK forum page earlier this afternoon, I noticed that my messages count had went down from 1,009 to 1,004. I posted about it in the New Format section, and not too long after that, the database error started popping up. Rather odd...

Now getting back to VK issues, can something be done about the missing format buttons above the message box? All I've got is a series of '?' boxes...
-Adam
__________________
Visit my site!

Stereo: Pioneer SPEC-4, Pioneer SPEC-1, Kenwood KT-7500, Dual 1219, Nakamichi BX-100, Pioneer PD-M60, Paradigm Studio Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-22-2016, 12:13 PM
jimbofish's Avatar
jimbofish jimbofish is offline
Sourse... of coarse!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW lower penninsula Michigan
Posts: 53
I suspect VK issues may not get much attention from the admins until all the AK issues with ZF are resolved, unfortunately.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-22-2016, 12:41 PM
Kamakiri's Avatar
Kamakiri Kamakiri is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 5,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamAnt316 View Post
Now getting back to VK issues, can something be done about the missing format buttons above the message box? All I've got is a series of '?' boxes...
-Adam
If you mean on the "Reply to Post" screen, I get some gobbledygook too. Just something we have to live with for the time being while they fry bigger fish over at AK.....
__________________
"Restoring a tube TV is like going to war. A color one is like a land war in Asia."
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-23-2016, 03:41 PM
AdamAnt316's Avatar
AdamAnt316 AdamAnt316 is offline
Collector of heavy things
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kamakiri View Post
If you mean on the "Reply to Post" screen, I get some gobbledygook too. Just something we have to live with for the time being while they fry bigger fish over at AK.....
Not entirely sure if it's a matter of 'bigger fish to fry'. My guess is that the image files for the formatting button icons (bold, italics, underline, etc.) in the Reply to Thread screen were shared between AK and VK, and with the switch from VBulletin to Xenforo, those image files are gone. I know that this also used to be the case for some of the small icons in the main thread displays within the forums (i.e. they'd be missing when the old AK forum software went down), but those seem to be intact now.
-Adam
__________________
Visit my site!

Stereo: Pioneer SPEC-4, Pioneer SPEC-1, Kenwood KT-7500, Dual 1219, Nakamichi BX-100, Pioneer PD-M60, Paradigm Studio Monitors
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.