Videokarma.org

Go Back   Videokarma.org TV - Video - Vintage Television & Radio Forums > Solid State CRT Televisions

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2016, 03:15 PM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
Exclamation 1984 RCA XL100 from an estate sale

I saw an estate sale in my area today with some promising pictures, so I decided to check it out. Walking up, I spotted an old console TV on the driveway. Then I started running. I asked the guy running the sale what he wanted for it, and he said "PLEASE take that thing! Load it in your truck!" So I had to ask my grandfather to help me load it in his truck. After that we had an awsome lunch at Milo's. The TV works, but it has a few issues. It has really bad blooming, among other things.

Last edited by TUD1; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2016, 03:17 PM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
Another. It won't let me upload more than one picture at a time for some reason.

Last edited by TUD1; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2016, 05:28 PM
mstaton's Avatar
mstaton mstaton is offline
"Book em Dano!"
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Caldwell, Id
Posts: 1,595
My parents had that same set. I helped pick it out from a place called "Phil and Jim's"(out of business). Lots of press-board. Don't spill water on the top or it will bubble up.. Had it for 20 years and never broke down, not even a bad CRT
Phil and Jim's commercial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DaaROqaVEl0
__________________
"It's a mad mad mad mad world" !!
http://www.youtube.com/user/mwstaton64?feature=mhee

Last edited by mstaton; 01-16-2016 at 05:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2016, 05:29 PM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 884
Here's a pic of my 1984 RCA XL100. Still works perfect. I wouldnt say I ran for this, but I didn't waste much time taking the van down a block from my house to load it up from next to a dumpster it was sitting by. I'd rather have a colortrak 2000, plus, or dimensia but now way I was going to turn down any 84 set.

Last edited by pac.attack76; 07-14-2016 at 02:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2016, 06:30 PM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
When I picked it up from the estate sale, water had condensed all over it and now the top is quite bubbly. It's got these thin horizontal lines in the picture now. It's not blooming as bad now, though.

Last edited by TUD1; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 01-17-2016, 12:21 AM
mstaton's Avatar
mstaton mstaton is offline
"Book em Dano!"
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Caldwell, Id
Posts: 1,595
Digital or mechanical tuner? Ours was digital with remote. Red numbers
__________________
"It's a mad mad mad mad world" !!
http://www.youtube.com/user/mwstaton64?feature=mhee
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2016, 12:27 AM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
Digital. It shows the channel number in the lower right of the screen. I looked everywhere, but I couldn't find a CTC number on this set! The picture tube is a 25VGDP22.

Last edited by TUD1; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2016, 08:28 AM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,044
In pix #1 I think I see jail bars. In the last pix it
has retrace lines. IIRC the big filter can at the rear
is two section. One is the power supply filter, the other
is for the 200V. The 200V part is probably bad. Its
typically from 5mfd -22mfd. If its OK you can
turn down the G-2 on the CRT socket to get rid of
the retrace.

73 Zeno
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2016, 09:14 PM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
Well, I have some good news. I talked to my friend in Atlanta, and he instructed me to lower the screen adjustment on the back. That solved the retrace lines problem. I put in a new 33 Mfd capacitor thinking that would fix the jailbars, but it had no effect.

Last edited by TUD1; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2016, 10:30 PM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
After finishing the long, laborious task of cleaning my room, I was finally able to install the TV.

Last edited by TUD1; 08-07-2016 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 01-19-2016, 09:01 AM
pac.attack76's Avatar
pac.attack76 pac.attack76 is offline
Stuck in the past!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Song of the south
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by TUD1 View Post
After finishing the long, laborious task of cleaning my room, I was finally able to install the TV.
Using the word "install" made it sound as if you had put it in the wall or something. Looks good though.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-19-2016, 09:10 AM
zeno zeno is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 3,044
Some sets used 2 caps in series, Fisher comes to mind.
If not that 'lytics in the separate MSC board gave trouble, it may be
coming in on the tuning voltage or other line. Usually it is
the 200V. A very common problem across all brands.
BTW CTC### usually on a big tag on the chassis or FBT.

73 Zeno

Quote:
Originally Posted by TUD1 View Post
Well, I have some good news. I talked to my friend in Atlanta, and he instructed me to lower the screen adjustment on the back. That solved the retrace lines problem. I put in a new 33 Mfd capacitor thinking that would fix the jailbars, but it had no effect.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-19-2016, 05:59 PM
TUD1's Avatar
TUD1 TUD1 is offline
TheUniversalDave1
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 1,565
For some reason, the remote-control supplied by Charter cable does not work with this TV. I programmed every code for RCA into the remote, and none of them worked.

Last edited by TUD1; 01-19-2016 at 06:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:35 AM
andy's Avatar
andy andy is offline
VideoKarma Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,982
Are you sure it's a remote set? RCA made lots of TVs with digital tuning, but no remote.

Some of those early IR remote RCAs used a non-standard remote system. Does it have direct access (0-9) buttons on the set, but no channel up/down? If so, it needs a special remote that actually stores the channel scan list inside the remote itself. When you press channel up/down on the remote, it transmits the channel number to the set.

It's been a long time, but I think those sets would respond to the direct access numbers of more modern remotes, but not channel up/down. If you were using the channel up/down buttons to test the remote code, try again using the numbers, mute, or power.
__________________
Wanted list:
RCA CTC-5
RCA CTC19 or 27
Sony KV-7010U
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2016, 11:53 AM
Jeffhs's Avatar
Jeffhs Jeffhs is offline
<----Zenith C845
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairport Harbor, Ohio (near Lake Erie)
Posts: 3,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by pac.attack76 View Post
Using the word "install" made it sound as if you had put it in the wall or something. Looks good though.
Yes, that set does look good in your room. The room must be fair-sized if you are able to fit a console TV and a floor-standing Zenith antique radio in there, but you did it. That is all that counts. My apartment is too small to accomodate even one console TV, but I do have a collection of small table radios, almost all Zeniths from the 1950s and '60s. What can I say, I like Zenith.
__________________
Jeff, WB8NHV

Collecting, restoring and enjoying vintage Zenith radios since 2002

Zenith. Gone, but not forgotten.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2012 VideoKarma.org, All rights reserved.